3 Months

I’m trying to stop from buying too many books because I can’t buy a new bookshelf yet. For the past 3-4 months I tried to stay away from bookstores. I borrowed books as much I can instead of buying them. And I don’t say no to free books. :)

June-August

I borrowed Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky from JL. I plan to read this before the movie on September. Table for Two by Marla Miniano is from Tina. I got curious since this was one of three finalist of the first Filipino Readers’ Choice Award for Chick Lit.

Deadline by Mira Grant

Deadline by Mira Grant is from Tina of One More Page as well. This was my travelling companion when our Central Quality team went to Tagaytay for our team building.

I also have book club friends who give away books just because… Wala lang.

The Ask and The Answer by Patrick Ness was given by Ace last F2F7 because he doesn’t want to carry books going home. Isn’t that wonderful? Haha. I wish someone will give me the first book of Chaos Walking too. Kwesi of SweetReads gave me Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce because I think this is YA Paranormal. I’m not even sure if he read this or not. Who am I to judge? Libre ‘to eh.

I won The Boy Recession by Flynn Meaney from the raffle draw last Saturday in the 2nd Filipino ReaderCon. I think all of the people who stayed after the awarding got free books.

After The Birthday Party is inspired by the reading and discussion of The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro, members of the online and real life book club Goodreads – The Filipino Group share their unforgettable memories and life snippets dealing with love, loss, hope, and regret.1This was the memento given for the F2F7.

Bought BooksTKoGThe only books I bought for the past months were Rival by Sara Bennett Wealer, Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler and That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esquerra.

I bought Rival from Celina’s Books and Magazine online. I’ve been looking for this for like forever. I just saw this by chance from her page and I got it for Php 200 (HB). :) I was with Kwesi & Sheryl when I bought Why We Broke Up (HB) in NBS. The first thing I did when I saw this book was smell it. Haha. Amoy encyclopedia. :D I bought That Kind of Guy last June and I had it signed on our GR-TFG F2F7/Kuya Doni’s birthday party! Plus I had a picture with the author. :))

That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esguerra

Sino kayang magiging Anton ko? (for MBB)

With the Author

Mina V. Esguerra, Author of Fairy Tale Fail, My Imaginary Ex & IGol – Fangirl lang talaga ako. :)

1 After the Birthday Party|Goodreads

+++
+++
Feature:

Shelved () features the books I bought, received or borrowed for the past month(s).

7 thoughts on “3 Months

  1. Angus Miranda

    Huy! Why do I feel that you did not read the Percy Jackson books? Hehe. If you want/need to borrow them again, just let me know. I don’t mind naman, basta huwag mo lang ibenta, hahaha! :D

    Reply
    1. Alona Post author

      Ahahaha. Busted. I want to buy my own copies na kasi. :)
      Pero tenk u for lending it to me. Ang tamad ko kasing magbasa lately so iniisip ko baka amagin na yan sa bookshelf ko di ko pa nababasa. Hahaha.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

