Why We Broke Up

You either have the feeling or you don’t. – Hawk Davies

Why We Broke Up is Min’s long letter to her douche bag ex-boyfriend Ed explaining why they broke up. It comes with a box full of mementos that Min kept during their relationship. It’s a letter full of angst and bitterness. I can’t blame Min for feeling that way. I would too. It’s common in most break up stories especially if the guy is an asshole like Ed.

Type Her Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler, Maira Kalman (Illustrator)

Hardcover, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 354 pages
YA Contemporary

Read from December 30, 2013 to January 02, 2014

I’m telling you why we broke up, Ed. I’m writing it in this letter, the whole truth of why it happened.

Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up. Two bottle caps, a movie ticket, a folded note, a box of matches, a protractor, books, a toy truck, a pair of ugly earrings, a comb from a motel room, and every other item collected over the course of a giddy, intimate, heartbreaking relationship. Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.

At first I didn’t like Min. I think sending back things that meant something to you back to your ex is childish. Why would the ex care if he dumped you in the first place? Of course I didn’t know yet the reason they broke up. You wouldn’t know that until the latter part of the novel. But reading the first few things she’s returning and thinking what an insensitive jerk Ed is, would she even think that he’d bother reading it? She romanticized everything in their relationship. I guess you can’t help that when you’re in her age and when you’re falling in love for the first time.

I was curious why Min felt that way, why she’s so affected of what happened, so I kept on reading. And I came to a point that I understood why she has to do what she did. I experienced, not all, but most of what she went through. Being on the receiving end of a bad break up is hard and you need to find someway to finally let all things go. If making this letter and returning those things is Min’s way of moving on, so be it.

It’s not the actual break up that broke my heart. It’s the little things Ed did that he shouldn’t have and the things he should have done but didn’t do. Because these things, you’ll only see these when you’re already out of the relationship. That’ll hurt but you know what hurts the most? It’s the realization that you let it happen, that you allowed yourself to be treated that way.

It would take a while building yourself back but if you have awesome friends like Min, you’ll get through it. And one day you’d think of the past and you’ll just laugh at it. It will come. It may take some time but you’ll get there.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.


P.S. I don’t return things. I throw them away. I also try to change something. The last time—ahem I had my heart-broken, I changed my phone, I changed my hairstyle and I changed almost all my wardrobe. Brand New Me lang ang peg!

P.S.S. There is one scene I would want Min to do something. This was the roses part. If I were her, I would have used the roses to hit Ed in the face multiple times until he bleeds to death.

Other Reviews:
READER. WRITER. NERD.
Ivy Book Binding
Tabitha’s Book Blog

Challenge:

Book # 2 of 2014

Blurb and Photo Credit: Goodreads

One thought on “Why We Broke Up

  1. Maria

    “It’s not the actual break up that broke my heart. It’s the little things that Ed did that he shouldn’t have and the things he should have done but didn’t do.” – I agree. And yay on the P.S.S.! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

