Forgive and Forget

Forgiving is never easy.  Rereading this made me realize one thing—ang bitter ko. It must be the age, you think? I wasn’t that mature then. Anyway, this made me laugh. Thinking how foolish I was before. Have fun reading folks.

Posted Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006 @mag-mag08.blog.friendster.com

forgive and forget
An easy thing to say but not an easy thing to do.

On one mass I attended the priest said, “Forgiving, I know is a hard thing to do. But you have to humble yourself and forgive those people who hurt you. For if you can do an act considered as a hard task, then that only means that you’re a strong person. Because you manage to do an act that most people don’t have the courage to do so.”

Ang ganda diba? Sana ganoon din kadaling gawin.

Ang pagpapatawad ay kusang ibinibigay. Hindi ipinipilit.
Ang paghingi ng tawad ay dapat makatotohanan.

It should be sincere.

I’m on that situation. I heard he wants to ask for forgiveness.

Okay?

But I think I’m not yet ready to talk to him or with the other girl. At the back of my mind, I know he isn’t sincere. Maybe he only wants to remove the guilt he feels that is why he is asking for forgiveness.

I will not give him that satisfaction.

Mamatay siya sa guilt at masamang tingin sa kanya ng mga tao.

I heard he keeps on saying that they shouldn’t judge him for they do not know how he feels. Hey, let me tell you this:

“Ikaw lang ang dapat sisihin sa mga nangyayari sayo dahil ikaw ang gumawa ng ikakasira mo, hindi ako, at lalong hindi ibang tao. Ikaw lang.”

I’m trying to move on but it’s hard to forgive and forget. Wala na siya sa sistema ko, pero hindi ko pa kayang magpatawad. Maybe in due time I can forgive but I can never ever forget. I know that time will come (obviously hindi ito ang tamang panahon kasi pakiramdam ko sila pa ang nagmamalaki sa akin).

I can’t force myself to do it. Kahit sabihin pang utos yon ng Panginoon. My point is what is the use of forgiving them in the name of God if I can’t give that forgiveness wholeheartedly? Walang essence diba?

Hihintayin ko na lang yung panahon na kaya ko na talaga silang patawarin. I’m not closing my door but I’m very, very sure that this isn’t the right time.

The damage has been done and your apology won’t change a thing.

Forgetting is another issue, if time will come that I can forgive them, hindi parin maaalis nun na “Sila ang mga taong nangloko, nang-isa, nanggamit at nanakit sa akin.”

I will never forget the betrayal and the pain I’ve felt.

Hindi mabubura ng isang “sorry” ang pinagdaanan ko.
Hindi maaalis ng isang “sorry” ang panahong ginugol ko upang makaharap ulit sa tao na taas ng noo.
Hindi maibabalik ng isang “sorry” ang tiwalang ibinigay ko.

I can never trust them again. I can be civil but the gap will always stay there.

I can forgive but I cannot forget.

forgive and forget

2 thoughts on “Forgive and Forget

  1. mhariz says:

    npakhirap magpatawad lalo n kung ung taong mahal mo ang na2kit sau at ung binigyan mo ng buong tiwala..

    • Alona says:

      Hi Mhariz! Yes, that’s right. It would take a little while to forgive those who hurt us but as time goes by, you’ll let go and forgive them. It took me 2 years to finally forgive this guy. That was 2008 and even if I forgave him, the only word I said to him was “Hi”–nothing else. He’s not my friend now and he isn’t even one of my friends in FB. I guess, I did forgive but I never forgot what he did to me.

      Did the same thing happen to you? And BTW, thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

