Justin Bieber: Never Say Never – A movie for Bielibers and Non-Bielibers

I’m not a Justin Bieber fan. I listen to his songs when it’s being played and I wouldn’t change channels when his music video is on MTV but I’m not a hard-core-bieliber. I really couldn’t understand why there were girls crazy over him.

If I probably have 100 reasons why I don’t like him, his fans would definitely have 1001 (and beyond) reasons why they adore him. So it’s a wonder why I watched his Justin Bieber: Never Say Never movie on one weekend at 1 in the morning. And surprisingly, I found myself enjoying it and even watched it twice.

Type HerJustin Bieber: Never Say Never

Paramount Pictures, 105 Minutes
Released on February 11, 2011
Documentary

Watched in April 2011

Follows Justin Bieber with some footage of performances from his 2010 concert tour.

Director: Jon M. Chu

Awards: MTV Movie Award – Best Jaw Dropping Moment: Justin Bieber

Stars: Justin Bieber, Usher Raymond, Scooter Braun, Ryan Good, Miley Cyrus, Ludacris, Boys II Men, Sean Kingston, Jaden Smith, L.A. Reid, Snoop Dog, Randy Phillips

+++

Honestly, I was not really interested in watching the entire movie. Since it’s my habit of checking the ending first (not always but I do that), I decided to check the last 5 minutes of the film. What I saw was an arena full of screaming female fans (majority of it) making the love heart sign with their hands and chanting Justin’s name. I can’t explain why but even without seeing the full movie yet, I felt over-whelmed. And that made me decide to watch it.

I thought it was just a simple-concert-turned-movie kind of crap but I was wrong. It’s a narration of Justin’s humble beginnings as an aspiring 14-year-old artist, his struggles of entering main stream US music industry, and his success as a 16-year-old music icon who conquered the music world in barely two years.

When I heard Justin’s first single “One Time”, I initially thought that he was just another AaronCarter-wannabe and for sure his popularity will not even last a year. His voice was very young and his songs were suitable for audiences of Nickelodeon or Disney. Scooter Braun was right when he said that DJs wouldn’t play a record of a 15-year-old kid. So they decided to work on another plan. They’ve let Justin perform live in different radio stations all over the US whether they play his record or not. This was where I saw how Justin and his group started from scratch and broke my notion that since Usher was co-handling him—everything came his way. It wasn’t like that. He and his team worked hard for it.

ryan good
+++
It went naturally but naturally doesn’t mean easy. There’s work that goes into that and you have to do the footwork. – Ryan Good
+++

What I really like about this documentary was the sincerity of the people behind Justin Bieber’s success. No matter how talented or how charming he maybe, without these people, he wouldn’t be who he is now. I know that they get millions of dollars now from Justin, but when he was still starting, there was no guarantee if he’ll succeed. Nevertheless, they stood for him and gave him their 101 percent support.

They also knew the importance of Justin’s fans. They knew that they owe Justin’s success to them. And the good thing is they never forget that. Let’s admit it, with what’s happening with the global economy now, not everyone can afford to buy a ticket for the front rows or anywhere within 10 meter distance from the stage (except maybe for the die-hard fans who wouldn’t eat for days to buy those tickets). Some can’t even pay for the tickets at all. Imagine what a die-hard fan would do if she gets a free ticket very close from the stage—Yeah, you’re right—you get screaming fans. And this was what the team did.

scooter braun
+++
“Me and the guys of Extreme Help Makeover have THE best job in the world. ‘Cause we get paid to make other people happy. It’s actually the most gratifying thing about the job. Little things go very, very long way, and the moment we forget that-I think it’s over.” – Scooter Braun

+++

Now for the funny part, the avid fans. I really find most of his female fans annoying and overacting. Hey, I’m not being mean okay? I’m just being honest. Hello?! He’s not from outer space! He also has the same organs as you do. He eats the same food as you do (it’s just probably more expensive). He breathes the same air as you do. He lives on earth as you do. And above all, he p**ps too. So I don’t get it why these toddlers, middle school kids and teens think he’s the hottest guy on the planet. I was once a kid. I also had my share of artist crushes and time to time craziness but not all the time! I have nothing against Justin Bieber fans. They just go overboard most of the time.

I know a lot of Justin-haters or simply avid movie goers don’t like the movie. I respect that. We all have different perceptions. I’m still not a Bieber fan and I’m certain I wouldn’t get the so-called Bieber Fever. However, after seeing this documentary, I somehow understood why his fans adored him so much. Only few people who are naturally born charmers and Justin is one of them. He has a commanding presence on stage and he really is adorable. I also realized that he is human too and he is like any other teenager. He just got lucky.

justin bieber 2011
+++
“There’s gonna be times in your life that people will tell you that you can’t do something. There’s gonna be times in your life that people will say, you can’t live your dreams. And there’s gonna be times in your life when people will say that you can’t sell out Madison Square Garden. But this what I tell them, never say never!” – Justin Bieber+++
+++

Though I liked the movie, the little critic in me won’t give this a full five. There are some shots that suddenly pop up out of nowhere and it makes the movie a bit confusing. I found those annoying.

Justin fan or not, I’ll score this 2 Kiss Marks.

Bad: Read or watched but I’m not impressed.

Other Reviews:
EDDIE RAY BREAKS THAT SHIT DOWN!
ZACH HORNER
THE BIG KIBITZ

One thought on “Justin Bieber: Never Say Never – A movie for Bielibers and Non-Bielibers

Leave a Reply

