Lessons Learned from a Broken Relationship

love lessons, love

We all know that love like life is not a bed of roses. You’ll definitely have your share of stupidity, mushiness and heartache.

Like any other girl, I’ve had my good and bad experiences with love. I’ve loved, lost and found love once again.

The transition of moving on from a lost love to a new-found love is never easy. And coming from a bad relationship makes moving on painful and a long process. I’d been there. I experienced the pain, bitterness and hatred first hand. But I have to move on. And with that I’ve learned a few things.

– Heartbreaks last as long as you want and cut as deep as you let them to go. The challenge is not how to survive heart-breaks but to learn from them.

– I learned that letting go is not just setting the other person free, but also setting myself free from all fears, bitterness, hatred, and anger that I keep in my heart.

– I will not let the bitterness take away my strength and weaken my faith and I will not allow the pain to dishearten me, but rather grow with wisdom in bearing it.

– It’s hard to accept the verdict of reality without being bitter or sorry for myself. But I have to learn to accept it, for I will only find peace and happiness through open acceptance of what is reality today.

– I know that, I don’t have to be bitter on love. I know that I would be better off giving that dedication and love to someone more deserving. I will not let my heart ruin my life. I know that I have to listen not only to my feelings but to reasons as well.

– We all fail and make wrong decisions but our blunders are meant not to bury us deep in misery but to teach us the valued lessons of life.

– At times it is better to keep your mouth shut and let people wonder if you’re a fool, than to open it and remove all doubt.

– Everything happens for a reason. Nothing happens by chance or by means of bad luck.

– God wakes us up in the midst of a storm to teach us a lesson. He takes away people we love, so we can learn to value love itself. He makes us cry hard enough so we can see clearly when we open our eyes. He makes us bitter so we can realize that there is no genuine happiness if we think only of our needs and not of others.

All images used in this post are from We Heart It. Credit to the owners.

One thought on “Lessons Learned from a Broken Relationship

Leave a Reply

