Burlesque: Just another Musical Movie

When I heard that Cher and Christina Aguilera will team up for a movie, I initially thought “What the heck? Is this another Glitter or Crossroads?” Both movies didn’t make it to the box office and I’m pretty sure that I’m not the only person who thinks both movies sucks. Those pop icons turned actress should have stuck with their forte—singing.

Type HerBurlesque

Screen Gems, De Line Pictures, 119 Minutes
Released on November 24, 2010
Drama, Musical

Watched on July 2011

A small-town girl ventures to Los Angeles and finds her place in a neo-burlesque club run by a former dancer.

Director & Writer: Steve Antin

Cast: Christina Aguilera, Cher, Stanley Tucci, Kristen Bell, Alan Cumming, Julianne Hough, Cam Gigandet, Peter Gallagher, Alan Cumming

Music by: Cher, Sia Furler, Christina Aguilera, Danja, Tricky Stewart

I never really had any expectations when I watched the movie, so I hesitantly bought the DVD and after watching it—I’m singing “yeah, yeah, yeah”.

To be honest, Burlesque is not the best musical movie I watched (compared with Phantom of the Opera) but I can say it’s not a bad movie either. I must admit it; I was not impressed with the movie’s story because it’s too common. A girl wants to make her dreams come true so she left her hometown, moved to the big city with no one else to turn to. She did find a place to call her own, found friends, family and a partner. Then she lives happily ever after. Very familiar? You bet it is.

Though the movie’s screenplay was pretty weak, I can say that the music used for the movie compensated what’s lacking from its screenplay. The movie has strong numbers and there are songs that really made its mark to the movie goers. I loved Cher’s performance of “You Haven’t Got The Best of Me” and Christina‘s “Show Me How to Burlesque” number. I kept singing the line “Let me hear you say, yeeaah!” for hours. The movie did give me LSS (Last Song Syndrome).

I really don’t know if I can recommend this movie to everyone but if you’re just looking for a movie that can entertain you and for you to pass the time; Burlesque is not a bad choice. If you love Broadway music, you’d certainly enjoy watching this; However, if you’re the movie goer that won’t settle for anything less, forget watching this movie.

I’ll give Burlesque 3 Kiss Marks.

Mediocre: I can tolerate it but I want more!

As for the actor’s acting—well, I’d be honest, it’s 2 Drama Awards.

Shallow.

Other Reviews:
The Early Bird Catches the Worm
NZ Film Freak
mehlsbells

One thought on “Burlesque: Just another Musical Movie

  1. wally letargo says:

    i have to say na maganda naman yung movie pero nakulangan ako.kabog naman yung mga performances sa movie lalo na yung part na nag acapella nalang si cristina at dun nalaman ng lahat na she has a very good voice.i have to say na napaka hot ni cam and infairness kay cristina bagay naman sila on screen hindi siya nagmukhang tita.hehehehei would give the same scores. 2 awards for the actors and 3 kiss marks for the movie.

Leave a Reply

