Sucker Punch Sucks

The title of the movie fits it. I can’t say anything else. It sucks.

Type Her Sucker Punch

Warner Bros., Legendary Pictures, 110 Minutes
Released on March 25, 2011
Action, Adventure, Fantasy

Watched in July 2011

A young girl is institutionalized by her abusive stepfather. Retreating to an alternative reality as a coping strategy, she envisions a plan which will help her escape from the mental facility.

Director: Zack Snyder
Writers: Zack Snyder, Steve Shibuya

Stars: Emily Browning, Vanessa Hudgens and Abbie Cornish

+++

I had high expectations with this movie. I first saw its trailer and I got interested. The graphics of the movie was awesome. The action scenes were breathtaking. The girls were sexy and lethal. But I shouldn’t have watch it. It was a waste of time.

The storyline sucks.

Since the movie’s cinematography was great, I really thought I’ll enjoy the film. I love action flick movies and I love it more if the leads are bad ass women. I endured 30 minutes of watching the film intently but when the action scenes were only shown when the freakin’ girl started to dance, all of my interest were thrown out the window. I understood what they want the characters to do or what they had to change or obtain. I just don’t get why they had to show it through imaginary fighting scenes. The action scenes don’t make sense. It was rather a distraction.

It seems that the producers were thorn between creating a dramatic-disturbing-film or an action-sci-fi-flick so they decided to mix both and the result was awesomely disastrous.

The main character’s acting didn’t even help. It sucks too. I probably can rant continuous of the negative, ugly things I’ve seen in movie but I’ll just give you guys one advice; don’t watch it.

Ugh. It sucks. It sucks. It sucks!

Okay, obviously my word for the day is sucks. Sorry. I can’t help it. I was really disappointed with this movie.

1 Kiss Mark

No-No: It’s not worthy of my time.

1 Drama Award

S.O.S Drama School!

Other Reviews:
GAMERSCENE.WORDPRESS.COM
CLARATSI’S MOVIE REVIEW
POP BABBLE

8 thoughts on “Sucker Punch Sucks

  1. Mirai says:

    Even though the story is not very good, I liked the movie. (Mostly because of its awesome graphic and soundtrack).

    • Alona says:

      Hi Claratsi! I love linking to reviews that is different from mine. Don’t worry I respect everyone’s opinion. I’m glad you enjoyed the film. I wish I can say the same but it just didn’t really work for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

