Beautiful Disaster

I don’t usually do book reviews but because of a persistent friend I’ll give it a damn try. Goodness, I can’t imagine myself making this review after spending 10 hours in the office with no sleep at all so Kwesi you better read this or else… 

Just a disclaimer before you read this, it’s more of my rants and blab of the book and not a review. Okay.

Type Her Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful, #1
Kindle Edition, 319 pages
New Adult, Contemporary

Read on August 15, 2011

INTENSE. DANGEROUS. ADDICTIVE.

Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby wants—and needs—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

What got me into reading this book was the cover (the thumbnail looks like a girl’s V*, don’t you think?) and the synopsis. Now stop looking at the book cover. I swear, it’s really the synopsis that made me read this.*winks*

Abby Abernathy wants to start a new life and forget her past so she decided to study across the country thousands of miles away from her hometown. She’s your typical good girl. She doesn’t smoke. She doesn’t drink. And she doesn’t date boys with reputations. Then she met Travis Maddox. A hot, irresistible guy who has everything Abby wants to avoid.

This was a novel that started pretty well, then slowed down in the middle and ended not so okay. That’s why I gave it a 2 Kiss Mark rating.

I like Abby and Travis characters at first but because of the choices they made as the story progress, I lost interest in them. I know how important character development is in a novel. But most of the time the character changes for the better. I’m not saying that they didn’t. I just find the development unnatural.

**Spoiler Alert**

I first thought that Abby is a smart-level-headed girl. But she turns out to be an undecided-two-timing-bitch. I hate it when she couldn’t decide if she likes dating Parker or she loves Travis. I never imagined her to be that clueless and stupid. It was very obvious that she likes Travis but she keeps on denying it because she can’t get pass her drama in life. And when she finally ended up with Travis, she can’t decide if she wants to stay with him or not. She perfectly perfected the art of fickle mindedness.

Travis, on the other hand, is your typical charming frat bad boy. I don’t like guys covered in tattoos but Travis carried it sexily. He is so yummy. Then he fell in love. That changes everything. Don’t get me wrong, I love it when a womanizing-oozing-with-sex-appeal-guy falls in love and becomes a one-woman-man; however, I don’t like it when he becomes too cheesy and dependent with the girl he loves as if his world revolves around her. It’s annoyingly unnatural.

There was even a scene in which Travis was singing “Satisfaction” in the cafeteria and all the people there joined him as if it’s a remake of a scene from High School Musical. It serves as the last cue for his macho image to be thrown out of the window. That was definitely not awesome.

The ending was not the way I expected it or I probably expected too much. Either way, I still don’t like it. It was not a smart choice. They got married at the age of nineteen! (Abby was 19 and Travis was a little older) They haven’t even finished college yet! Get married at nineteen in Vegas?! Ugh. Not a smart choice for me. It’s more proper if it ended with a solid commitment or a proposal that they’ll get married when the right time comes.

Okay I can’t think of anything anymore and I need to sleep now. Ha-ha.

Other Reviews:
Writer in Progress
WHY I CAN’T STOP READING
Thick Pages

Leave a Reply

