Devil Beside You

If I remember it right, I first watched this series 6 years ago. Well, I was looking for something to watch last weekend and I happen to see my copy of this drama so I decided to watch it again. I still find it funny and amusing but I guess I’m way passed my teenage years to go gaga over cheesy-predictable storylines.

I always like to review films/dramas after I rewatched it since I’ll be sure that my judgement won’t be biased. Well, I actually liked this drama when I first seen it but now it’s different. This is the bad thing about second viewing, it’s either you’ll like it more or you’ll end up wondering what-in-hell made you like it before.

Type Her惡魔在身邊 / Devil Beside You

CTV, 14 Episodes
Broadcast Period 6/5/05 – 9/8/05
Romance, Comedy

First watched in 2006, Watched for this review in November 2011

After finally getting the courage to confess her feelings, Qi Yue (Rainie Yang) was handing her love letter to Yuan Yi (Kingone), but by a stroke of bad luck, he did not see and walked past her. The person standing in front of her was the troublemaker of the school, infamously known for his devilish ways – Jiang Meng (Mike He). The devil will get what he wants, and the object of his desire was Qi Yue. Although having a cruel exterior, Ah Meng’s heart is kind and caring, which truly touched Qi Yue. The big problem remained – Ah Meng is the son of the man Qi Yue’s mother is going to marry. Even though they were not related by blood, who will accept this step brother-sister relationship? What is to become of their relationship when other lovers come into the picture?

Director: Lin He Long
Screenwriterd: Mao Xun Rong & Cao Xiao Ru

Cast: Mike He, Rainie Yang, Kingone Wang, Ivy Fan

 

Most of the scenes and the actors’ performances are exaggerated. The plot is bearable but the acting of the characters just ruined it. No matter how beautiful a plot is, if the actors and actresses of the film/drama didn’t give justification to their roles, everything will go down the drain. Of course, the director has something to do with it, but anyway blaming every one of the crew won’t change my opinion.

Rianie Yang‘s strenuously cute, bubbly and over the top acting is very annoying! I might have found it cute 6 years ago but now it’s a pain in the eyes.

See the expression?

Mike He‘s no different. God, I can’t, for the life of me, understand why I liked this guy so much before. His domineering, rich, high-maintenance, character is overrated. And the devilish grin? Ugh. It makes me want to puke out of disgust.


Ugh. Kill me now!

There’s no question with Mike and Rainie’s chemistry together. I still had those occasionally kilig moments when I watched it. I just don’t find them cute anymore. I’m not saying I won’t watch their present dramas. I would still give it a try but if by any chance their acting is still the same after so many years in the business, that’s the time I would have to say enough. I’d rather spend my valuable time with worth-watching series.

If I made this review 6 years ago, my rating would’ve been 4 Kiss Marks. But judging from the way I reacted after rewatching this, I would go for 2 Kiss Marks.

Bad: Read or watched but I’m not impressed.

As for the cast’s performances, my rating would still be the same 1 Drama Award.

S.O.S Drama School!

Though I didn’t enjoy the drama on my second viewing, I still recommend this to those who are just starting to appreciate Taiwanese series. To teenagers who are not looking for gripping love stories and prefer light romance, Devil Beside You is not a bad choice.

But for those who are just like me or the ones that are not easily moved by cutesy lines, plot and acting, forget it. Save yourselves from disappointment and irritation.

Other Reviews:
Shine Like a Rose
My Asian movie & drama
Drama Queen Review

Feature:
Drama Rerun
Drama Rerun (1)
A semi-regular meme for reviews of series I’ve watched the second time.

4 thoughts on “Devil Beside You

  1. bumbleberri says:

    So true! You’re the first person I’ve read a review to not be totally obsessed with Mike haha
    For me, I never really liked Mike’s acting. All the character’s he’s been have been pretty much the same for years now 😛

  2. Shana says:

    Hi Bumbleberri! Yeah. I was so disappointed when I watched his recent drama, Love Keeps Going (read my review here). I was hoping he improved. That was the third drama I’ve watch with him as the lead actor and it definitely be the last.

    Thanks for visiting and following my blog! I hope you enjoy it! 😀

Leave a Reply

