Unearthly

I’d been seeing this novel in book stores for the whole of last year and ever since I really want to have a copy. I was so glad when I got this in our GR-TGF Christmas party. I spent 3 weeks reading this because the only time I can read is on my way to work. But those three weeks is worth it.

Type Her Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Unearthly, #1
Hardcover, HarperTeen, 435 pages
YA Paranormal

Read from December 25, 2011 to January 15, 2012

In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees . . .

Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.

Unearthly is a mysterious, captivating tale of love, fate and decisions. It’s a breath of fresh air from the regular angel themed books I’m reading that makes you feel the characters know something you don’t. That’s why you have to keep reading to find it out.

In Cynthia Hand’s Unearthly, Clara is as clueless as we are with her powers, with all this angel-blood stuff and with her purpose. We discover it bit by bit together with the heroine. Cynthia gives the readers a piece of her character’s traits throughout the novel. And because I can’t figure out what’s going on in their minds, I can’t stop reading. And it gets better and better with every turn of the page.

I’m not gonna dig in to the characters this time but with the story itself. There are things new in this novel that set it apart from most fantasy/paranormal books I’ve read and made my reading experience a joyful ride.

It’s so nice to know that the one who needs saving is not a damsel in distress waiting for her prince to serve her. Clara is the angel and she’s the one with the purpose to save somebody else. The story centered most with female powerful angels and it reminded me of Charlie’s Angels. Ha-ha.

The first half of the story focused on Clara’s discovery of what she can do and what she should do. It’s not a guessing game for us readers. As I’ve said the discovery is simultaneous. We’re not left alone wondering what the hell is going on since Clara is also in the same situation.

The romance side of the story was not even touched until the last couple of chapters of the book. And making the romantic relationship of the characters as complicated as it could be made me think of who would be Clara’s object of affection. When Clara did fell in love, the guy is mundane! Hurray! And it’s not Christian! I’d been rooting for Tucker ever since he was introduced in the story.

Their relationship blossomed in time. It’s not love at first sight and they started as frenemies. Tucker’s character was not even always present in the first half of the book so the sudden change in their relationship is a revelation. I got to know Tucker’s character through Clara’s eyes. And I learned that he doesn’t cuss! Really?! Tucker, you’re my boy! Ibi-b.i. kita. LOL.

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Some of the lines I liked from the book came from the time the two of them are together.

So I’m in love. That crazy, forget to eat, float around in a daze, talk on the phone all night and bounce out of bed every morning hoping to see him kind of love.

This reminds me of a Sharon Cuneta’s song known in the 80’s. It goes like, “Di na makatulog, Di na makakakain. Taghiyawat sa ilong pati na sa pisngi…”

Boy, do we ever kiss. We make out like champions.

This made me laugh. It’s like they’re the winners of lovapalooza for the longest, most lingering kiss ever.

My time to be a heartbroken teenager is officially over and done. Time to move on.

A heartbreak line! Cool! (Wala lang. I just think it’s cool. I know, I’m a freak at most times)

Tucker’s the type of guy most mothers would love their daughter’s to date.

Tucker, baby, akin ka na lang. Wag ka na kay Clara!

I’m giving Unearthly 4 Kiss Marks. I can’t wait for the next book.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

I. Want. Hallowed. Now.

Other Reviews:
Book Revels
Violin in a Void
RHAPSODY IN BOOKS WEBLOG

Challenges:
Free Reads     
Book # 1 of FreeReads          Book # 6 of 2012

Blurb and Book Cover: Goodreads
Book Copy: Owned (Gift from JL)

One thought on “Unearthly

Leave a Reply

