One Day

I’m not expecting anything when I watched this movie. I don’t have the slightest idea of what it’s all about. I was looking for something to watch and review when I happen to see a copy of it and since I know how impulsive I am in buying series and movies, I decided this isn’t a bad addition to my increasing stack of DVDs.

I thought this movie would just be a background noise while I do my laundry. I also thought it’ll bore to death and I’d stop watching it half way and then hide it in the bottom of my DVD rack. Those were my foolish assumptions because One Day didn’t just catch my attention—it caught my heart.

Type Her One Day

Focus Features, Random House Films, 107 Minutes
Released on August 24, 2011
Drama, Romance

Watched in January 2012

After spending the night together on the night of their college graduation Dexter and Em are shown each year on the same date to see where they are in their lives. They are sometimes together, sometimes not, on that day.

Director: Lone Scherfig
Writers: David Nicholls (screenplay and book)

Stars: Anne Hathaway, Jim Sturgess and Patricia Clarkson

Disclaimer: This review contains spoilers.

One Day is a heartbreaking tale of friendship, love, pain, chances, and everything two people, two friends, one couple to go through with. It’s a story that can happen to anyone, at any time, in any millennia.

Emma and Dex met on the night of their graduation and became friends over the years. They don’t usually see each other but they constantly stay in touch. The movie always shows important development in their lives every 15th of July for the span of twenty years. The importance of this date is revealed before the movie ends.

They’ve been through a lot. They tried to find happiness on their own before realizing that the happiness they are looking for is just around the corner.

I love you Dex, so much. I just don’t like you anymore. I’m sorry. – Emma

And when they are just starting to build their lives together, an unexpected twist happens, a twist that will break everyone’s heart into pieces.

I was hoping against all hope that it was just a bad dream and that eventually they’ll have the happiness they truly deserve. It’s so unfair. (*pauses*, tissue please!)

She made you decent, and in return, you made her so happy. So happy. And I will always be grateful to you for that. – Ian on Dexter.

If only they didn’t separate the day after they met. If only they decided to continue what they started twenty years ago rather than leaving everything with fate. If only they chose to be together and discover what lies ahead hand in hand. If only they had another second chance. They would have spent more time together. They would have been happier. With no regrets.

You know, fate sometimes makes everything complicated. And on random chance of bad luck, fate makes fun of us. But at the end of it, it goes down to one truth—everything happens for a reason.

Whatever happens tomorrow, we have today. – Emma

I usually avoid movies like this because it makes me crave for boxes of chocolates and gallons of ice cream. But I always end up, crying over it, feeling every scene, every dialogue, every tragedy and loving every part of it.

One Day is a combination of Serendipity, If Only, A Walk to Remember, and The Notebook.

It. Will. Make. You. Cry.

I’m giving this movie 4 Kiss Marks. I can’t give it a full five because Em died. Ah. I’m a sucker of happy endings! If you guys love heart-warming, tearjerker movies, you shouldn’t miss this one.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

As for the cast’s performances, it’s 5 Drama Awards. What more can I ask for? Anne Hathaway played Emma’s part effortlessly. She never fails to amaze me and I like seeing her in movies like this. While Jim Sturgess gave life to Dex’s character and the older he gets, the more dashing he becomes. 😀

Superb! I’m speechless!

I know this movie has a book. I don’t know which comes first. But I will NOT read the book anymore. The pain is too much.

And gaining weight is something I purposely avoid. (No more sweets!)

Other Reviews:
The Bittersweet Bookworm
Film Babble Blog
Smitten Kitten

Blurb: IMDB
Photo Credit: thefilmstage

3 thoughts on “One Day

  1. Alyssa says:

    I really enjoyed you review! I’ve read a couple other reviews on this movie as well, but none indicated like yours, just how sad this movie is. I’m kind of second guessing my decision in seeing it now, lol. I did just sign up for the Blockbuster @Home package through my job at Dish, so I’m thinking I’ll just add this one to the middle of my mailing queue and watch it when I feel ready for a tear jerker. It’s sad to hear Em died in the end, but I’m definitely intrigued to check it out. 🙂

    • Shana says:

      Hi Alyssa,

      The movie is great! (I’m sorry for the spoiler) This is one of the most heartfelt films I’ve watched recently. Yes, it’s sad but if you think of the 20 years they’ve been through, I’m happy that at least they get to spend a few years as a couple. 😀

      Thanks for visiting my blog! Feel free to visit it anytime!

Leave a Reply

