Love & Leftovers

Love & Leftovers is the first novel I read in verse. I usually stay away from books like this because I’m not sure if I’ll get the story. I hesitated when I saw the first few pages of this book and realized it’s written in verse. But then I decided I’ll give it try. And I am glad I did.

Type Her Love and Leftovers by Sarah Tregay

Kindle Edition, Katherine Tegen Books, 453 pages
YA Contemporary

Read from January 20 to 21, 2012

My wish is to fall cranium over Converse in dizzy daydream-worthy love.

If only it were that easy.

Marcie has been dragged away from home for the summer—from Idaho to a family summerhouse in New Hampshire. She’s left behind her friends, a group of freaks and geeks called the Leftovers, including her emo-rocker boyfriend, and her father.

By the time Labor Day rolls around, Marcie suspects this “summer vacation” has become permanent. She has to start at a new school, and there she leaves behind her Leftover status when a cute boy brings her breakfast and a new romance heats up. But understanding love, especially when you’ve watched your parents’ affections end, is elusive. What does it feel like, really? Can you even know it until you’ve lost it?

Love & Leftovers is a beautifully written story of one girl’s journey navigating family, friends, and love, and a compelling and sexy read that teens will gobble up whole.

I finished reading this in an hour. It was a fun (occasionally annoying) light read.

Marcie was forced to drastically change her life since her parents separated. She moved to New Hampshire with her Mom, started in a new school and forced herself to make new friends. Then when she was starting to adapt and make a new life in her new school, Marcie was dragged by her father to move back to Idaho—and she doesn’t know where to start. Because she knew deep within her, she had changed.

Marcie is a girl yearning for affection and physical contact. Having the trauma of knowing your dad is gay and facing the reality that your father left your family because of a guy are two difficult issues Marcie has to deal with. I understand her doubts with Linus’ sexuality since they never shared anything past a passionate kiss. Having a gay father and a long distance relationship are enough to make her feel lost and doubtful.

Yes, I understand her. But it’s not enough for me to say that she isn’t selfish—because she really is.

I want another person to notice me, to say that I matter, to say that they care about me. Is that so wrong? Selfish? – Marcie

It would have been okay if she doesn’t have Linus. No matter what she says, she hurt him. Linus was a sweet, loving, kind and trusting boyfriend. My heart went out to him when he confessed why he never touched Marcie the way she wanted to. Man, how many guys like him are left in this world? Finding a guy like him is one in a million.

Marcie’s dad is so open-minded. Imagine receiving a box of condoms from your father and a very nice letter educating you about sex from a man’s (or gay’s) point of view. Haha. That’s hilarious. I really think it’s cool to have a gay dad.

Sarah Tregay’s début novel is a worthwhile read. Yes, it isn’t perfect but her verse caught my dramatic self and I felt something for her characters. Marcie may not be the nicest heroine I’ve read but I like her no matter what. Tregay was not afraid to show her character’s negative traits. I love her honest and heartfelt writing.

Two of my favorite lines from the novel:

Time and understanding cure everything. – Danny

Yes, this is true but it will leave a mark—a scar that will forever be present to remind you of what you’ve been through.

You can’t choose the time and place, the when and where, and with whom you fall in love with. – Katie

A perfect line for anyone whose looking for love.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

This is the first novel I read in verse.
And I’m certain this would not be the last.

Challenges:

Book # 8 of 2012

Other Reviews:
Shut Up! I’m Reading
Early Nerd Special
Book Journey

Blurb: Goodreads
Photo Credit: book-obsessed

Leave a Reply

