Evernight

I bought the second book of this series last 2011 MIBF even though I don’t have a copy of the first book yet. When I saw a copy of Evernight in NBS for Php 100 a few months back, I didn’t think twice and bought it. I said to myself that it’s just a hundred bucks anyway, it’s not even enough to buy me a cup of coffee. I think it’s a smart buy to think the copy is brand new… or so I thought.

Type Her Evernight by Claudia Gray

Evernight, #1
Paperback, 1 Reprint Edition, HarperTeen, 327 pages
YA Paranormal

Read in February, 2012

Bianca wants to escape.

She’s been uprooted from her small hometown and enrolled at Evernight Academy, an eerie Gothic boarding school where the students are somehow too perfect: smart, sleek, and almost predatory. Bianca knows she doesn’t fit in.

Then she meets Lucas. He’s not the “Evernight type” either, and he likes it that way. Lucas ignores the rules, stands up to the snobs, and warns Bianca to be careful—even when it comes to caring about him.

“I couldn’t stand it if they took it out on you,” he tells Bianca, “and eventually they would.”

But the connection between Bianca and Lucas can’t be denied. Bianca will risk anything to be with Lucas, but dark secrets are fated to tear them apart . . . and to make Bianca question everything she’s ever believed.

I read this novel after watching the movie Underwold: Awakening. I don’t know what got into me but I felt the movie was not enough and so I wanted to read a vampire themed novel to quench my growing thirst for blood vampires. I would have picked up an adult vampire novel but I still have a hangover with the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series and the Immortals After Dark Series plus I wanted to read something new—thus I ended up with Evernight.

This is another Twilight rip off with a mix of Vampire Knight. If you were fond of reading Japanese Manga or watching Japanese Anime, you would immediately notice it’s resemblance with Vampire Knight. If not, you would think that the plot is different from most YA Paranormal Vampire novels out there.

I enjoyed reading the first half of this novel. I know it’s a vampire book therefore, I’m expecting that half of the students in the school are vampires. I kindda liked the eerie-gothic feel of the school and the guessing of who the vampires are. Well, it’s pretty obvious since most of the vamps in YA books are almost perfect. You can easily point them out and you’ll just wait for the confirmation as the story progress. What I didn’t expect in the twist is the sudden change of where the story is going. The whole time I thought Lucas is the vampire. It turns out that he’s a vampire hunter and Bianca is the vampire not just today or a hundred years ago but since birth.

I was dumbfounded. All of a sudden, everyone in Evernight is a vampire (except for a few mundane students)—and it was no secret to Bianca. She knows it even before she came to Evernight. What the hell? She even has this running away drama at the start of the novel. She feels left out and she can’t get along with her fellow vampire schoolmates. Am I missing a joke somewhere? It’s as if I’m reading a totally different book.

After the hype that went on with YA Vamp-lit genre since Meyer’s mushy Edward-Bella tandem, I feel like all YA vamp books are patterned to give the readers a headache. I read and liked the series that started this madness but I won’t make a mistake of rereading it—a “book hurling” moment is something I don’t look forward to.

Evernight by Claudia Gray

I would have rated this a little higher (like 2.75?) if the plot isn’t the same with Vampire Knight. I was even thinking of just giving it 2 Kiss Marks but I have to admit I was entertained regardless of the things I didn’t like in this book. Here’s a 2.5 Kiss Marks rating.

Bad: Read or watched but I’m not impressed.

I saw a hardbound copy of Hourglass, the third installment of this series, in NBS the other day for just Php 100. This time I hesitated—I’d rather buy a cup coffee and enjoy it than suffer another bout of disappointment.

I would still read Stargazer though. But only for the reason that it’s part of my Off The Shelf Challenge and that’s it—I won’t finish this series anymore.

Challenges:

Book # 25 of 2012

Other Reviews:
SERIESOUS BOOK REVIEWS
Miss Page-Turner’s
Book Nerd & Critic

Blurb: Goodreads
Photo Credit: Claudia Gray

Book Copy: Owned

6 thoughts on “Evernight

  1. 06azami says:

    Hey comrade! ^^ We have the same book, I also bought mine in NBS for only Php 99.00 (Php1.00 difference though). Mine was also good as new, except for that pentelpen mark. And yeah, it has a strong resemblance with Vampire Knight (I love this manga/anime series) except that I can’t see any similatiries between Kaname and Balthazer. I fall in love with this series, it gets interesting as the plot progresses. Too bad I can’t find those other 3 books in my place, I just downloaded some of Evernight series ebooks online. =]

    • Alona says:

      I think I got mine for Php 99.00 too. I can’t really remember so I said Php 100. I’m glad you liked it. It’s entertaining but I guess I’m way past my vampire addiction so I decided not to finish this series.

    • Alona says:

      You CAN’T. It’s a feature of the blog theme I’m using. If you want to customize your blog, you have to pay for it or better yet buy your own domain.

      Tip: Look for a blog theme that suits your needs. WordPress have a lot of free themes.

      • SweetReads says:

        Thanks for the tip. I might check the themes again tomorrow and ready my blog before I leave Manila. But I read some articles regarding that that the quote border can be change using some basic CSS codes. I’ll let you know if I can fix mine. Have fun!

  2. Alona says:

    Yes, you can use basic CSS codes but you have to pay for it. WordPress won’t allow you to edit most of it’s blog basic designs. You can use simple HTML codes but not CSS. You have to upgrade your account to do that.

Leave a Reply

