Feed

Disclaimer: This review contains major spoilers. Read at your own risk.

Did you ever feel like asking one question and you think that question sums up all questions in your head? I know I’m not making any sense but after reading Feed I feel like my brain is in shambles and I’m left with one word—Why?

Feed is my first zombie read. I’ve been hearing a lot of positive feedback about this from my GR friends and the book blogging community but I didn’t pay it attention. I downloaded the book in my Kindle, shelved it and forgot it. I read this by accident. It was never part of my reading plan (as if I have any). I won’t ever regret picking this up because I’m not just entertained—it made me care. Feed is the most memorable book I’ve read for this year yet.

Type Her Feed by Mira Grant

Newsflesh Trilogy, #1
Kindle Edition, Orbit, 609 pages
Science Fiction, Horror, Zombies

Read from June 04 to 06, 2012

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beat the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED.

Now, twenty years after the Rising, Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives-the dark conspiracy behind the infected. The truth will out, even if it kills them.

FEED is the electrifying and critically acclaimed novel of a world a half-step from our own—a novel of geeks, zombies, politics and social media.

I had a funny experience while reading this book. Since I can’t put this down, I read this whenever I had the chance to. I was on my way to work one time, Kindle on hand, oblivious of everything surrounding me. I didn’t notice a guy from PPILC approached me. Damn, I was so startled. It took me a few seconds to recover and decipher what this guy’s offering. I politely declined and walked away as fast as I could. Swear, I almost hit him with my Kindle. I’m even sure my expression was really funny at that time. You might as well say, I thought a zombie came out of nowhere.

That’s what Grant did to me. She sucked me right in to the story. This book kept me on the edge of my seat. Its adrenaline-pumping scenes and gripping suspense made me want to finish this book in one sitting which I find impossible since its 600+ pages! The politics is boring to most but it was just okay. I was more annoyed with the info dump because it made the book too long but I feel I’ll miss something if I skipped it (which annoyed me more—600+ pages!). But despite my vexation with the number of pages (I have to memorize hundreds of Korean phrases and words and I was hoping this would be a quick read), I can’t put the book down. Amidst the political intrigue, zombieness and mystery; the real heart of Feed is Shaun and Georgia’s story—and that kept me going.

Shaun and Georgia is by far the most endearing duo I’ve read in a while. Georgia is helluva of a heroine. Her integrity as a journalist is outstanding. She’s serious and careful while Shaun is crazy, impulsive and reckless. They’re different; both of them have their own quirks but they complement each other. I fell in love with these two. And a part of me died when they have to face death the way they did. I don’t want anyone to die but I know, at the back of mind, someone will. I felt Shaun’s pain when he has no choice but to pull the trigger. His denial. His lost. His guilt. Everything.

After reading Feed, I decided to put off the remaining books of Newsflesh Trilogy but it doesn’t mean I won’t read reviews and check for spoilers. YES, I DID THAT. I opened Google and searched the words “ending/review of Deadline/Blackout”. When that was not enough, I went ahead and read the last 3 chapters of each book. I’m not a fan of sad/tragic endings. I know the ending of Feed is necessary but still… I have to find out if I’m in for another heartbreak or I’ll go crazy. As Georgia Mason said, the truth will set you free.

Feed - Georgia Mason, Quote

I made this review right after I finished reading the book but I didn’t post it immediately so now I’m done reading Deadline but I’ll set aside Blackout for a while. Reading 600+ pages per book is exhausting. I need a break from this zombie madness.

But who knows, I might change my mind.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

Related Post:
Deadline
Blackout

Other Reviews:
One More Page
Sweet Reads
Reading is the Ultimate Aphrodisiac

Challenges:

Book # 82 of 2012

Blurb: Goodreads
Photo Credit: Orbit Books
Book Photo: Owned & Edited by ShanaTalks

7 thoughts on “Feed

  1. Yzabel says:

    I read that book in 2011 and was definitely sucked in and awed. I haven’t acquired the other two (I was waiting for #3 to be published, so that I wouldn’t have to wait in between), but will do soon. I’m even considering reading #1 again, if I have enough time to do so, just to be pulled in once again.

  2. Carrie Slager says:

    This was my second zombie read and it cured me of my zombie fear (which I got from movies). Personally, the info dump didn’t bother me because it gives the world of Feed a lot more depth. I like how Mira Grant actually thought about how zombies would work in a real-life situation. But then again, I’m not trying to learn a new language!

Leave a Reply

