Divergent

First thing I remembered while making this review is that it took me 8 days to finish this book. I don’t review books right after I read them so I’m trying to recall what made me rate this 4 kiss marks and why it took me that long to finish Divergent. Most of my book club friends tell me that this is like The Hunger Games and the ones who recommended this book to me said it’s better than The Hunger Games. I’m not an expert in this genre so I heed advises from my friends who think, breath and walk dystopian.

Divergent is the second dystopian book I read next to THG. My TFG-GR friends introduced me to this genre. Having diverse book friends is awesome because I get to read a lot of books out of my comfort zone. I trust their recommendations and it’s nice to read something new especially at times when I feel I’m reading too much Contemporary YA. A change in genre is a good way to clean up my palate.

Type Her Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent, #1
Paperback, HarperCollins Children’s Books, 487 pages
YA Dystopia

Read from February 05 to 13, 2012

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her

It took me a while to get into the story. I find the first part of the book relatively slow. I see that the world building has similarities with THG and that had been a factor why I was not in a hurry to finish reading the book. I somehow got over it when the story started to unfold and I started to appreciate and understand what the factions are for. Dividing the society into five factions based on their behavior/trait is a good idea. Yes, it can still be compared with THG’s 13 districts but I came to an understanding that this book might have something different that wouldn’t scream “THG” from start to finish. So I kept on reading. Veronica Roth has a cunning ability to slowly draw the readers into the story and compel them to keep on reading. Once I got past half of the book, I was hooked.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

I got this as a Christmas gift from Kwesi last year.

Divergent (Divergent #1)

Thank you Sweet Reads! I love the shiny cover. (When will you get me a copy of Insurgent? I want a shiny cover too! Demanding? I know.)

The characters are okay but I didn’t feel any connection with them. I like Four and Tris, as I said they’re fine, but it was not enough for them to grow on me. The romance between them took time to build up and there is no love triangle in this novel which I truly appreciate. This highly overused plot is so common with YA novels these days that I find it tiresome. Another factor I like in this book is the absence of cliffhangers. I hate series ending with huge cliffhangers. In Divergent, Roth gave the answers to most of the major questions/conflicts in the novel. So you’re only left with the question, “What happens next?”

I enjoyed Divergent. Overall, it was a good read. However, it was not enough for me to go gaga over it. Thus, the 4-kiss mark rating.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

Am I divergent? My friends say I’m not. I’m too candor, they said. I was about to comment on it when they quickly added, “Not in Roth’s Candor way. You’re an honest evil person.” I couldn’t agree more—I’m brutally honest—at times to the point of sarcasm. *evil grin*

Challenge:

Book # 22 of 2012

Other Reviews:
20four12
Escaping Through Books
The Z-Axis

Blurb & Photo Credit: Goodreads
Book Photo: Owned & edited by ShanaTalks

Book Copy: Owned (Gift from Kwesi)

Leave a Reply

