Paper Towns

It’s a shame to call myself a YA Contemporary reader without even reading any JG books yet. I cannot figure out why it took me a while before deciding to pick up his works. Most of my GR friends have high praises for JG but I just shrug it off. I’d say I won’t succumb to peer-pressure. But when I saw some of the newbies and even Maria (Reading is the Ultimate Aphrodisiac) reading and loving the book, I gave in and dived into this JG madness. And I never resurfaced.

Type Her Paper Towns by John Green

Kindle Edition, Speak, 332 pages
YA Contemporary

Read from May 16 to 22, 2012

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

JG is a talented writer. His humor is remarkable. I look stupid laughing my ass off while reading this on my way home. I have to subtly look at my surrounding, see if someone is looking at me, and mistake me of being crazy. The witty, hilarious comebacks and awesome dialogues made me crack most of the time. I know I’m mean and sarcastic but JG? Oh my. I loooove his sarcasm! Ibang klaseng panlalait. Wagas.

Chuck Parson did not participate in organized sports, because to do so would distract from the larger goal of his life: to one day be convicted of homicide.

If I’m not mistaken, this is the first book I read in a male POV. I was hesitant to read books like this because I was afraid I won’t relate with the protagonist. It’s surprising I loved Q’s voice. I adore his relationship with his geeky best friends. The three are very supportive and even if they’re different, they get along.

Paper Towns

Reading in the office. (Yes. Public place.)

John Green’s characters are real and I like them. As much as I like Q, I do not feel the same with Margo. I don’t understand why he likes her that much. I somehow could not blame him because boys are usually drawn to things they deem unattainable. I know she’s not really in the story (literally speaking); she was just there for the first and last part of the book. But seeing her in Q’s eyes made me think she’s selfish. It’s important to feel independent but her actions were self-centered. I do understand why she has to do what she did but there’s a part of me that is still unconvinced of her character. She disappeared. Without telling anyone. Now tell me that is not a selfish.

Aside from JG’s hilarious humor, I also like how he presented the reality of life with his characters and his lines/dialogues. I highlighted a dozen of quotes I love in this book. But the most memorable for me is this:

Forever is composed of nows.

Another thing I liked in Paper Towns is how it ended. I wouldn’t want it any other way (that’s new for me since I’m a sucker for happy endings). I will not say it’s heartbreaking. It is reality. And I think it’s the best decision Q and Margo did. I wouldn’t call myself a JG fan yet (I still have to read his other books. I really like Paper Towns though). But it’s really an ignominy I didn’t read his books earlier.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

BTW, I learned a lesson while reading Paper Towns; the next time I read a JG book, I will not do it in public—I do not want to get wary glances when laughing with JG’s humor. Again.

Challenges:
Off The Shelf
Book # 4 of Off The Shelf Book # 80 of 2012

Other Reviews:
Shut Up! I’m Reading
The Book Basement
Quinn’s Book Nook

Blurb & Photo Credit: Goodreads
Book Photo: Owned & Edited by ShanaTalks

One thought on “Paper Towns

Leave a Reply

