Fairy Tale Fail

Fairy Tale Fail is the first Mina V. Esguerra book I’ve read and I instantly became a fan. This is one of my best reads for the first quarter of the year. And since I discovered her works, whenever I crave for a light read, Mina’s books are always on my top list.

Type Her Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra

Kindle Edition, 144 pages
Paperback, Philippine Edition, Summit Books, 144 pages
Chick Lit, Romance

Read from February 24 to 25, 2012

Ellie thought she knew what she wanted in a guy: someone dependable, and someone she could bring home to her parents. In other words, a good guy to complete her happily-ever-after fairy tale. But when her good guy boyfriend all of a sudden dumps her in the place she least expected — saying that she is “a failure at relationships” — Ellie feels she has to fight harder to make her fairy tale come true.

But when Lucas, whom Ellie secretly calls Rock Star, enters her life and starts challenging everything she believes in, she has to face the truth about her goals and dreams. Will Ellie find the fairy tale she’s always dreamed of? And more importantly, who will fill the swashbuckling shoes of Prince Charming to give her story the happy ending she so deserves?

Ellie Manuel is a believable character that most twenty-something working girls can easily relate to. I know every girl had once looked for Mr. Right and asked for a happy ever after. That is why we can understand what Ellie had gone through with. It was a little annoying that she still waits for that douche after what he did to her but if we put ourselves in Ellie’s shoes, well, I can’t blame her.

What I really like in this novel is Ellie’s development. Though it’s just a quick read, Mina showed her growth as an individual. I like the way Ellie rebuilt herself after the break up, she didn’t immediately venture into another relationship but instead she gradually developed her self-confidence. I’m not really into travelling but her extensive planning of trips made me want to try it too. I guess it would be fun if I go with my friends. I’m not as bold as Ellie to go out of the country alone.

Now let’s talk about Lucas. *Fan Girling Mode On* OMGeeee. I’m so in looooove with this guy. As I said in my MBB (My Book Boyfriend) post, Lucas is on top of my list of swoon-worthy guys. He is far from perfect but his imperfection made him endearing. All I can say is, Lucas is ♥. I have one post dedicated just for him so I guess that’s enough. 😀

If you’re looking for a sweet light read full of kilig scenes and charming, characters, Fairy Tale Fail is a good choice.

Fantabulous: I can’t stop talking about it!

Related Post:
MBB (1): Lucas Herasco
My Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra

Other Reviews:
The Blair Book Project
From Page One
Book Adoration

Challenges:

Book # 26 of 2012

Blurb & Photo Credit: Goodreads
Book Photo: Owned and edited by ShanaTalks

Book Copy: Owned

3 thoughts on “Fairy Tale Fail

Leave a Reply

