They Kiss Again

They Kiss Again is the only drama I would never get tired of watching. This is the fifth time I’ve seen this series and every time it never fails to amuse me. I fell in love with their love story & relationship over again. ISWAK 2 is undeniably my favorite Asian Drama of all time.

Type Her They Kiss Again

CTV, 20 Episodes
Broadcast Period 12/6/07 – 4/27/08
Romance, Comedy

First watched in 2008, Watched for this review in October 2012

The sequel of It Started with a Kiss begins with Xiang Qin and Zhi Shu’s wedding and honeymoon.

Even after marriage, they experience problems and interferences within their marriage such as mistaken pregnancy, misunderstandings, and newfound jealousies. Xiang Qin and Zhi Shu switch to medical school to become a nurse and a doctor. During that time, Zhi Shu meets new rivals who wish to outdo him and Xiang Qin makes four new friends, and one of them likes her and wishes to replace Zhi Shu.

How will their lives turn out to be?

Director: Qu You Ning
Producer: Jerry Feng

Cast: Ariel Lin, Joe Cheng, Jiro Wang, Zhang Yong Zheng, Cyndi Chao, Tang Tsung Sheng, Zhang Bo Han

It Started with a Kiss and They Kiss Again are based from Itazura na Kiss a Japanese manga series written by Kaoru Tada. I’ve seen the anime version but I haven’t read the manga. I’m adamant in doing so because it was never completed due to the tragic death of Tada in 19991. I’m guessing that the anime stayed true with the manga (except the ending) so I pretty much have an idea of how the story went.

There are three live action versions of this: Japanese, Korean and Taiwanese. I haven’t seen the Japanese version yet but I’ve watched the other two. Playful Kiss stayed true with the manga while ISWAK 1 & 2 have additional characters and side stories. Between the two, I find the Taiwanese version better than the Korean remake (even if I have a huge crush on Kim Hyung Joong). It’s easier to watch, the story flow isn’t dragging, and the cast fit their roles. ISWAK was funny and cute while TKA is serious and dramatic. I like them both but I love TKA more, hence this review.

I had so much fun rewatching this drama for Drama Rerun. My emotions are a riot like the first time I’ve seen it. I still laugh over Xian Qin’s funny and stupid antics. I still swoon on scenes I love best. Heck, I still cry in every bump & drama these two had in their marriage! Nothing changed. TKA still gives me an emotional roller coaster ride.

One of the things I liked in this drama is Ariel Lin & Joe Cheng‘s tandem. They click. Their chemistry is captivating and they play their roles very well. Ariel’s portrayal of the not-so-bright but sweet and loving Xiang Qin blends with the brooding, arrogant, serious character of Zhi Shu which Joe played with flying colors. Because of how effective they are in this drama, I’m having a hard time watching them in other dramas they’re leading. I always see them as Xiang Qin & Zhi Shu. One example is Love or Bread, a drama they both lead in a few years after the ISWAK series. Joe’s role was the entire opposite of Zhi Shu, the same goes with Ariel. It was nice seeing them play another character that is so different from what they’re known with but I can’t stop comparing of how better they were in ISWAK. I feel like they don’t fit their new roles.

Another reason why I love They Kiss Again is because I related with Xian Qin’s experiences while taking Nursing in college. Seeing the things they do made me remember how it was like when I was studying especially on practicums and hospital duties. When Xian Qin fainted one time, I remembered my own fainting episode the first time I assisted a doctor do a minor operation in OPD. Oh my, that was so embarrassing. It had gone viral in our batch & department faculty in less than 48 hours! Those Clinical Instructors love to talk.

TKA has a special place in my heart. There are a lot of dramatic scenes in this drama but Xian Qin’s Capping, Pinning & Candle Lighting Ceremony really touched me. The most memorable part was when they took their pledge. I first watched this drama a few weeks before the Nurse’s Oath Taking Ceremony in 2008. I didn’t attend it. We have to pay for the program and registration and I have to be practical. I don’t want to financially burden my parents again after 4 years in college and 6 months for the NLE review. I would rather use the money for my license registration. That means I never had the chance to do the Nightingale’s pledge officially as a nurse. TKA gave me that. I know it’s not the same but it was enough.

I loved this series. (How many times did I say that?) However, the ending is bitin (hanging/not enough). It was a good ending but I would rather have the ending in the anime because it had a closure (somehow). I can’t blame anybody, right? The mangaka is already dead. But it’s not bad to wish for someone to continue the story and make a third installment of this drama. I wanted to know what happened with Xian Qin’s eye problem, what would their child be like, how did Xian Qin’s pregnancy go, how did Zhi Shu reacted, so on and so forth. It would be fun to see these characters again.

I rated this before 5 Kiss Marks and 5 Drama Awards. Would you still wonder what’s my rating now? Duh.

Fantabulous: I can’t stop talking about it!

Superb! I’m speechless!

Other Reviews:
Give Me Some Dramas
Smilife
Drama Addiction

Feature:
Drama Rerun
Drama Rerun (3)
A semi-regular meme for reviews of series I’ve watched the second time.

5 thoughts on “They Kiss Again

  1. merina henam says:

    I remember watching It started with a kiss and They kissed again in 2008 Summer vacation. It was a dull summer vacation with nothing to do but Joe Cheng and Ariel Lin came to my rescue. I watch these dramas whenever i feel blue, they lift up my spirit somehow. These are my all time favorite dramas and couples. I still have a huge crush on Jian Zhi Shu/Joe Cheng.
    P.S. I am watching They kissed again at the moment.

Leave a Reply

