Delirium

This book stayed for 151 days, 3,624 hours, 217,440 minutes in my Currently Reading Shelf. At least I didn’t give up. Achievement! *throws confetti*

Delirium and I had a lot of memories together. Once I spilled a jumbo Serenitea Roasted Sesame on it. (Yes, they replaced it.) Then my office mates hid it when we had an overnight shindig. I spent hours looking for it. If I didn’t seriously threatened to leave the place (at 2 in the morning), they wouldn’t give it back. I always bring it to the office for a month or two and when I went home to Pangasinan. It looked very pretty when I bought it. Now it looked abused. Haha.

Type Her Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium, #1
Hardcover, Special Edition, HarperTeen, 441 pages
YA Dystopia

Read from March 25 to August 22, 2012

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe.
I wonder whether the procedure will hurt.
I want to get it over with.
It’s hard to be patient.
It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet.
Still, I worry.
They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness.
The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

I really, really tried to like Delirium. The idea of love as a disease (complete with a clinical name, Amor Deliria Nervosa) and a world devoid of this emotion is an intriguing concept. There are things in this book that didn’t work for me but I have to say it was beautifully written. Oliver is a talented writer, her prose is stunning and meaningful. I have to give her that. We could see how well she thought of this society in every chapter epigraph. Those were one of the things I find nice in this novel but the strongest point is still Oliver’s writing.

The biggest pain for me was Lena. I don’t like her. She is so annoying. I tried understanding Lena’s situation. I tried to see her as a person who never experienced love and never felt it from her family since all of them are cured except from her Mom but then she has deliria. But I really didn’t relate to her.  I find her bitter, infuriating and foolish.

The book’s pacing was also a problem. I was so used to fast-paced dystopian novels full of action-packed scenes that I have to drop this book at times or I’ll die of boredom. The descriptive prose is as I said nicely written but I want to skip them just to get to the good part. I didn’t pick up a dystopian novel to read drama, if I wanted that I’ll stick to realistic fiction. Reading this was a challenge. I have to repeatedly convince myself that the next page won’t be boring, if I don’t I would never have finished this.

I only got excited at the last 3-4 chapters of the book. I felt the real story was only beginning and the rest was just an introduction. And of course the novel ended with a huge cliffhanger which is typical to series now a days. Instead of feeling bad, I was so relieved. My Delirium days are over.

My rating is 2.5 Kiss Marks. 1.5 for the writing, 0.5 for the pretty cover and 0.5 for the rest.

Bad: Read or watched but I’m not impressed.

I would still read the rest of the series. Heck, I finished Fifty Shades Trilogy even if the writing was bad. Oliver deserves another chance, better than E.L. James.

Other Reviews:
Bookieholics
Ginger-read Reviews
A Review Blog of Sorts

Challenges:
Off The Shelf
Book # 4 of Off The Shelf Book # 105 of 2012

Blurb & Photo Credit: Goodreads
Book Photo: Owned and edited by ShanaTalks

Book Copy: Owned

5 thoughts on “Delirium

    • Alona says:

      Hi Christian, I’m not giving up on this series yet. Who knows, I might like Pandenomium and fall in love with the series too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

