Come Away With Me

I’m starting to hate random downloads. It’s a game of hit or miss and I’m getting a lot of misses lately. I like trying out Indie authors. You can never tell when you’ll find a gem in a sea of e-books today, that’s why I give them a try. But now I think I need a break.

Type Her Come Away with Me by Kristen Proby

With Me in Seattle, #1
Kindle Edition, Kristen Proby Publishing, 324 pages
Adult Contemporary

Read from November 09 to 11, 2012

Being confronted on the beach by a sexy stranger wasn’t part of Natalie Conner’s plans for a peaceful morning taking photos. And why on earth would he think she’s taking pictures of him, anyway? Who is he? One thing’s for sure, he’s hot, and incredibly romantic, feeding Natalie’s wounded soul.

Luke Williams just wants the world to give him a break, so seeing yet another camera aimed at his face has him ready to pounce on the beauty behind the lens. When he finds out she has no idea who he is, he’s intrigued and more than a little tempted by her. Natalie has a body made for sex, a sassy mouth and Luke can’t get enough of her, but he’s not ready to tell her who he really his.

Natalie is a no nonsense girl who doesn’t do well with lies and secrets. What will happen to this new relationship when she discovers what Luke’s hiding?

Come Away With Me has a nice cover and blurb. I’m still crazy-craving-for-celebrity-characters so I picked this up. Oh my, what a freaking waste of time. I know how much authors invest in their work but this really didn’t work for me.

    • The plot is common, no serious conflict.
    • There are events that were thrown in from out of nowhere and at times all at once without even making the characters breathe.
    • The author has a lot of ideas and she crammed it in the first book of a series.
    • The world building was not realistic. The author failed to catch the reality of Hollywood.
    • The characters didn’t stand out. They’re flat.
    • The sex isn’t even good. Bleh.

The cover is very nice. I was tricked.

I don’t consider the bad plot and storytelling enough reasons to give this a 1-star rating. What ticks me most was the writing. There are a lot of grammar slips I can’t ignore. There are also details that aren’t necessary. It gives the impression that the writing is aimed to impress not to express.

Another issue I can’t let go is the pregnancy. This particular sentence made my head spin:

“I’m on the pill to prevent pregnancy”

Duh?! It’s a contraceptive for chrissake. What do you think it is for? World peace? That’s the main reason of using the Pill unless stated otherwise. The explanation of it not working is unbelievable after the heroine strongly claimed that she never missed a pill and that she is taking it correctly. The doctor insisted that it’s 99.9% effective when it’s taken correctly (he’s not listening, is he?) and sadly she is part of the 1%. Can I get a better explanation? Like maybe the patient took antibiotics that wane its effectiveness?

I seriously should take a break from reading Indie adult contemporary romance.

No-No: It’s not worthy of my time.

Other Reviews:
Abigail Robyn Brown
THE DIRTY GIRLS BOOK CLUB
Jessy’s Book Club

Challenges:

Book # 172 of 2012

Blurb and Book Cover: Goodreads

Leave a Reply

