Pride & Prejudice

Disclaimer: This is more of a rant than a review. If you’re a P&P fan and hate P&P bashers and haters then stop reading.

Pride & Prejudice is one of the most well-loved romance classic of all time and I was so looking forward to reading it. I was curious why many readers like it. I was hoping I would too, me being a romance junkie, but after meeting the Bennets, Bingleys, and Darcys, that hope died.

I have two words for this novel—puro kalandian!

Type Her Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Paperback, Puffin, 400 pages
Classics

Read from February 24 to October 19, 2012

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues.

Introduction by Anna Quindlen.
Commentary by Margaret Oliphant, George Saintsbury, Mark Twain, A.C. Bradley, Walter A. Raleigh, and Virginia Woolf.

Includes a Modern Library Reading Group Guide

 

I like reading Contemporary Romance (that has more sex than flirting) and I have my share of flirtation but P&P is in another level considering its era. I had an idea of what the plot would be just with the first line in the novel but I never thought that the story would revolve around that!

I don’t know if I’m being a feminist or what, but I hate the idea that these women all aim for one thing—marriage. I was wondering what these women do in their lives aside from attending balls, finding a rich husband to be, and spending all their time gossiping. Do they even think of what they could be besides being a wife? I mean, I kept thinking, they have female rulers before, right? Fine, I know women don’t have any choice when it comes to their roles in the society during this era and I should understand. But. It’s just… but. *makes face*

I’m letting my prejudices over marriage cloud my judgment for P&P. However, it’s not all about that. When I heard that the “tall, dark, handsome” and “love-hate relationship” came from this, I was expecting to be blown away by Lizzie & Darcy’s love story. I was not—far from it. The story didn’t focus on them. Their relationship suddenly blossomed at the latter part of the novel. I felt cheated. I known more about the Bennet Sisters, their ilusyanadang-social climber-slash-bugaw-Mother (that’s a pretty strong word but that’s the way I see her), the crazy-pervert Mr. Collins, the bwiset Bingley sisters and up-tight, feelingerang Lady Catherine than the supposedly leads of this novel. I’ve seen how Jane & Mr. Bingley developed their relationship and how Lydia became the biggest flirt of the century but I didn’t really see what happened with Lizzie & Darcy. They are always on the sidelines.

I also have aversion for telenovela-like novels. Pride & Prejudice has it all (it’s the basis of modern drama/romance after all). I’m so sick of over, over, over the top romantic-drama clichés in our local television and movies. From Marimar to Mula sa Puso, Mara Clara to the remakes of these “timeless” tear-jerker dramas and even the current telenovelas we have now and the pa-tweetums movies, they all have the P&P feel on it. This is why P&P didn’t work for me. I feel like I’m watching one of our Filipino classic telenovelas or a cheesy romantic-comedy film. And the worst part? The super-evil-villains. Gaad, I kept rolling my eyes whenever Lady Catherine or Caroline Bingley acts like a super bitch. I want to smash their heads with something to wake them up from their illusions of grandeur.

Lydia was another reason I almost hurl my book across the room (but I remembered how difficult it is to find a YA-ish copy of P&P). Like I said in my reading updates, Lydia Bennet is the ancestress of PBB Teens. If teenage girls are like her during their time, it’s no wonder we have PBB Teens now. Who would elope at the age of 16? (I know, Lydia) It’s stupidity to the nth level. If she were my sister, I would slap her non-stop until she bleeds to death and promise never to go out of the house again. Oh, she couldn’t do that if she’s dead, yes? Nah, I’m just joking. Though I would still slap her. Then convince her not to elope, give her condoms and tell her to practice safe sex. Hahahaha.

If I pick up P&P in high school (it was not part of our required reading since our English teacher was so cool she let us choose the novels we want to read, but thinking about it know, I wonder if she didn’t like P&P too), I would have probably liked it. Too bad, I read this at the wrong time.

BTW, I enjoyed watching the P&P TV series with Colin Firth. He is so gwapo. It’s just sad there’s no abs scene in the series. 😦 But the Bingley sister’s weird hair dresses, untrimmed eyebrows, broad, square jaw and Mr. Collins’ eerie creepy demeanor made up for it. It was irritating at the same time funny. What actually creep-ed me out was Charlotte Lucas and Mr. Collins’ marriage. If you’ve seen the series, imagine them having sex. Eww. I shouldn’t have said that! The images! It gives me goosebumps! Ick.

Bad: Read or watched but I’m not impressed.

Challenges:

Book # 146 of 2012
Required Reading for TFG-GR: October

Other Reviews:
Book Rhapsody
It’s All About Books
Book Journey

Blurb & Photo Credit: Goodreads
Book Photo: c/o Reev Robledo

Book Copy: Owned

6 thoughts on “Pride & Prejudice

  1. Peter S. says:

    Natawa naman ako sa “puro kalandian” na hirit! Hehehehehe.

    Anyway, I read a lot of books, but I really have a lot of difficulty reading Jane Austen. I tried P&P too, but all those chismisan was driving me crazy! I tried reading it again this year, but I still can’t get past the first few chapters! Ayayayay!

  2. Susan Quiambao-Villafuerte says:

    Hi. So glad I stumbled upon your blog. I’m a book lover myself but haven’t been able to rant and rave on the net about my fave books.

    I just recently read PP and I had to watch the series with colin firth first before I finally enjoyed the book. It was draggy and the romance was really bland. But I would recommend jane austen’s other not so popular novel, PERSUASION. I absolutely love it and it’s a little darker than PP but you can definitely relate to the characters and the ending is alot better than PP.

  3. Alona says:

    Hi Susan!

    I’m not giving up on Jane Austen yet. I still have a few of her books lined up though I’m not sure when to read them because I’m on a reading slump since February.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and I hope to hear from yah again. If you want to share your thoughts in the books you’ve read but is too lazy to keep a blog, Goodreads.com is the right place for you. It’s a bookworm’s online social paradise. 🙂

Leave a Reply

