NBS Warehouse Sale

National Bookstore recently had a warehouse sale with over 80% discount on office supplies and books in their Quezon Avenue branch. It’s the first time I went to a big NBS sale like this and it was a horrifying experience.

The place was a madhouse. Books are scattered everywhere. It’s arranged by price so you really have to go over each table to find books that you want. The baskets aren’t enough for everyone; people are dragging boxes instead. I can stomach a place with too much people but NBS made a mistake of housing the sale in an open area. There is no air-conditioning! I feel like I’m in Divisoria and I don’t often go there! And what made it from bad to worst was the ridiculous looooong queue for the cashier. I went there around 1 pm, pick up 16 books from different piles in about an hour, and lined up for almost 3 hours! I haven’t even renewed my license because I hate waiting in very long queues in PRC but I went over this because of my love for books (actually, I was there already and it was too late for me to back out). OMG, this was the most awful book haul experience I ever had.

My NBS Warehouse Book Haul. 16 books for P990 only!

I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore
Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell
Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman
Forever Princess by Meg Cabot
Devil’s Kiss by Sarwat Chadda
The Necromancer by Michael Scott
Sunrise by Melissa J. Morgan
Trickster’s Choice by Tamora Pierce
You are So Undead to Me by Stacey Jay
Hourglass by Claudia Gray
Rampant by Diana Peterfreund
Invisible I by Amanda Valentino
Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen
Reckless by Cornelia Funke
Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr

I’m giving the David Mitchell book to Tina this Christmas. Cloud Atlas is enough for me. I don’t think I’ll read another Mitchell book in the near future.

I also bought two Filipino books this month from FullyBooked. I was not really planning to buy these books because I was only there to check their planners but I guess I stayed too long since one of their staff is looking at me sharply probably because I disarranged the planners (but it was unintentional, I swear!) so I ended up buying these two.

I’m done reading Ramon Bautista’s book. It’s a quick read. Check my review here.

Bakit Hindi Ka Crush ng Crush Mo by Ramon Bautista
The Breakup Diaries by Maya O. Calica

+++
+++
Feature:

Shelved (4) features the books I bought, received or borrowed for the past month(s).

3 thoughts on “NBS Warehouse Sale

Leave a Reply

