The Vow

What would you do if one day you wake up and you don’t remember the last five years of your life? A difficult situation, right? Let’s add the fact that you are married to a guy you don’t even remember. The last time you know you were engaged to someone else.

What would you do if you are her husband? It’s a good opportunity to start anew if your marriage sucks but what if you are madly in love with her and you made a vow to always love, protect and nurture her? Will you wait and be patient even if there is no guarantee her memories will come back? How will you fight when everything you’ve been fighting for is gone? What would you do if all odds are against you?

This is what The Vow is all about. Two individuals who made a promise to be together forever but because of an accident, everything changed.

Type Her The Vow

Screen Gems and Spyglass Entertainment, 104 Minutes
Released on February 10, 2012
Drama, Romance

Watched in December 2012

A car accident puts Paige in a coma, and when she wakes up with severe memory loss, her husband Leo works to win her heart again.

Director: Michael Sucsy
Writers: Jason Katims, Abby Kohn

Stars: Rachel McAdams, Channing Tatum, Jessica Lange and Sam Neil

+++

I’d be honest, Channing Tatum is the only reason why I watched this film. I don’t know what it’s all about. And I don’t care. As long as I see Channing I’m okay with everything else. What I didn’t expect is for me to like the movie. Yes, it’s overly dramatic, cheesy and I can’t imagine Channing Tatum as a love-sick puppy. But I fell in love with its story. I don’t care if half of the world’s male population thinks it’s overrated. I’m a hopeless romantic (even if it doesn’t show) and I loved it.

This is the first film I watched Channing in a dramatic role. I didn’t watch Dear John so I don’t have any idea how he acts serious, emotional roles. I was surprised he can play the part well to think I only thought of him as G.I. Joe & Step Up material with a nice ass and body to die for. I know he can dance. However, it never occurred to me that he can act. That probably made the trick why I find it different. There are some parts in which he was over acting but there are also scenes he played well so it kind of balance things out. I still don’t see him as a real actor though. I have yet to see a film where he can prove he really can act.

Rachel McAdams was good. She’s a dramatic actress so that’s expected. I first saw her in the movie adaptation of The Notebook. She’s okay. Not as charming and regal like Anne Hathaway or Angelina Jolie but she carried herself well and she did help Channing in most of the dramatic scenes. She was into her character and I find her effective because there was a point I got irritated with her role.

Overall the movie was great. I liked the way it ended. It was fine and its the ending I was expecting medically speaking. The closure in their relationship was a bonus. My real rating for the movie is 4 Kiss Marks. The 0.5 is for the back shot. (So what? I’m a girl. That explains it.)

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

3 Drama Awards for the acting. I’m looking forward to a more mature Channing film.

Acceptable but not eye catchy.

Acceptable but not eye catchy.

Other Reviews:
Reviews of Happenings and News
Movie & Tv Show Reviews
My So-Called Life

Synopsis & Movie Details: IMDB
Movie Poster: Greensburg Daily News

2 thoughts on “The Vow

Leave a Reply

