Christmas Book Haul

I usually post my book haul every end of the month but since its December and today’s Christmas, I’ll make an exemption. After I post this, I promise to stay away from bookstores (I’m broke. *wipes tears* Impulsive buying is a bitch especially on holidays). The books I bought, borrowed and received as gifts are enough to last me for half of 2013.

The books I bought for this month. Some of them are from Celina and the others from BookSale.

Books I bought from Celina’s Books and Magazines:
Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1) by Ilona Andrews
Magic Burns (Kate Daniels, #2) by Ilona Andrews
Deadly Cool by Gemma Halliday
Ascendant (Killer Unicorns, #2) by Diana Peterfreund
Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta
Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta

I finally have TPB copies of Marchetta books! I decided to try the Kate Daniels series since I’m getting addicted to Urban Fantasy. My bookish friends tell me this is a good read.

Books bought from BookSale:
Fallout (Crank, #3) by Ellen Hopkins
Royally Crushed by Nikki Burnham
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra

I bought the YA books from BS because it’s not everyday you see YA in BookSale. Fallout is only Php 60, HB in a very good condition. I just can’t say no even if I haven’t read any of Hopkins’ works yet. I was not really sure if I’ll buy Sense and Sensibility. Jane and I do not have a harmonious relationship but since Aldrin said he wants it for his Vintage Classic collection, I decided to get it. I might as well try it before I give to him. That is if he won’t be in TFG’s HOHOL meet up on the 29th.

Because I’m a super-duper fan and is head over heels in love with Lucas, I bought the paperback copy of FTF! This one’s a must. No second thoughts.

We had TFG’s Christmas party last December 15th and here’s what I got.

I received a lot of bookmarks from my TFG friends. It’s not included in the photo but I also got a LOT of sweets.

Insurgent by Veronica Roth from John a.k.a Javiruchi, he is my Kris Kringle Daddy
Natural Born Charmer by Susan Elizabeth Philips from hot-momma Maria
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon from the resident AB(s) crazy lover boy of TFG, Patrick
Lumayo Ka Nga Sa Akin by Bob Ong, this is one of the books the members gave away, Po got it but because it’s Christmas and I’m really feelingera, I demanded Po to give it to me. Haha.
Home by Kat Santos and Voices in The Theater by A.S. Santos from *ahem* lovely (with a very long hair) Tina

Thank you! 🙂

We had F2F 12 discussion for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory before the party that is why we had sugar overload and hyperactive kids through out the night. The highlight of the event was the TFG Quiz portion that gave everyone a headache. It was a fun night, full of laughter, bashing, and food. And because we are clingy friends, our get together didn’t end there, some of us went to Tina’s house for a sleepover. I’m guessing you know what we did first. Yes, we checked or rather ransacked her bookshelf.

I borrowed 5 books from Tina. She has like 100+ books to read in her shelf. I borrowed the remaining books for the Kate Daniels series but I would still buy my copy if ever I see one on sale.

Borrowed from Tina:
Magic Strikes (Kate Daniels, #3) by Ilona Andrews
Magic Bleeds (Kate Daniels #4) by Ilona Andrews
Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, #5) by Ilona Andrews
Psych Major Syndrome by Alicia Thompson
Fire (Graceling Realm, #2) by Kristin Cashore

She also has a copy of Bitter Blue but she hasn’t read it yet. Haha. If ever I’ll like Fire, I might buy a copy and complete the series. But that means I would need a bigger bookshelf for next year.

I love all the books I got and my TFG friends. But the most memorable book I received for Christmas is the one from Kai’s sister, my dear “nanay-nanayan” in the office, Grace.

I never expected to get this for Christmas.

The Girl in a Steel Corset (Steampunk Chronicles, #1) by Kady Cross

I was about to ride the elevator when I opened the gift. When I saw what’s inside, I went back to the office (even if it was past 1 am and I really need to go home) and hugged Grace. When she handed it to me, she said she was not sure if I‘d like it. First, it was unexpected. Second, I was having a bad headache that day. Receiving this was an excellent pain reliever. Third, I never once mentioned to her that I badly want a copy of TGiaSC. I know I have to thank Kai for the book, I’m 101% sure this came from her bookshelf. She took the time to see my Wish List in GR, still it was pure luck they guessed what I really, really want. So for the two Graces, thank you! 🙂 This made me smile for days.

Merry Christmas! *Meow*

Source: We Heart It

+++
+++
Feature:

Shelved (5) features the books I bought, received or borrowed for the past month(s).

One thought on “Christmas Book Haul

Leave a Reply

