Easy

Indie Authors and New Adult Fiction seem to be the trend in Contemporary Novels this year. I seldom read YA these days because of this new genre. It’s not officially a sub-category/sub-genre of YA yet but a lot of authors & readers are acknowledging NA. With the sheer number of NA that came out this year, it’s obvious that many authors got excited of this post-adolescent literature. My favorite thus far is Easy by Tammara Webber.

For those who are not aware, some authors call it Mature YA because it includes sensitive topics that you don’t often see in regular YA novels but is common in Adult Fiction. Some of these are drugs, sensitive situations, sex, and offensive language. That is why it’s recommended for mature teens+. Most of the NA novels I’ve read are set in college/post-HS or the characters are aged from 18-25.

Type HerEasy by Tammara Webber

Kindle Edition, Berkley Trade, 310 pages
New Adult, Contemporary

Read from June 16 to 17

Rescued by a stranger.
Haunted by a secret
Sometimes, love isn’t easy…

He watched her, but never knew her. Until thanks to a chance encounter, he became her savior…

The attraction between them was undeniable. Yet the past he’d worked so hard to overcome, and the future she’d put so much faith in, threatened to tear them apart.

Only together could they fight the pain and guilt, face the truth—and find the unexpected power of love.

A groundbreaking novel in the New Adult genre, Easy faces one girl’s struggle to regain the trust she’s lost, find the inner strength to fight back against an attacker, and accept the peace she finds in the arms of a secretive boy.

Easy is an incredible-smoking-hot-easy read. The story is captivating. It has the elements I’m looking for in a realistic fiction set in college. I like how Webber portrayed college life without the unbelievable, Hollywood-y scenes you see in movies.

I didn’t like Jacqueline at first. I don’t like her decision of choosing her college to be with her boyfriend. That’s a lame reason. Another bad decision from her is not reporting the incident to the authorities, but I understand why she had to do this since in reality, there are really victims who do not speak up because they don’t want scandal and reliving the incident in public isn’t easy. I changed my opinion of her when she decided to move on not just from her douche bag ex-boyfriend but also from the attempted rape. She didn’t let the experience cripple her but instead she found the courage to tell it to someone else and study self-defense. Erin, her best friend, was a wonderful support system. I don’t think Jacqueline would have pulled it through that easy without Erin and of course Lucas.

I loved it so much I’m getting a paperback copy. But that has to wait till next year because I made a promise I won’t buy anymore books this December.

Lucas is the epitome of a bad boy. Swear, this guy is swoon-worthy; he wouldn’t be one of my book boyfriends if he isn’t.  What I like about Lucas (aside from being hot) is that he isn’t some random badass with tats who is all about sex and popularity. He has brains dude! He’s smart. He has his personal issues but he didn’t let it show. He isn’t emo, he knows how to beat the crap out of anybody who crosses him but he doesn’t do it for fun. He does it with the right reason. I’m definitely in love with him!

There might be things that annoyed me but I can let those pass since I really enjoyed reading it. Plus, Lucas played a big part of why I gave this 5 Kiss Marks. If you are looking for a sexy read that isn’t too much and a story that is more than romance, Easy is the right book for you.

Love is not the absence of logic but logic examined and recalculated – heated and curved to fit inside the contours of the heart.

Fantabulous: I can’t stop talking about it!

Fantabulous: I can’t stop talking about it!

Related Post:
My Book Boyfriend (2): Landon Lucas Maxfield

Other Reviews:
I’d So Rather Be Reading
YA Love
Cuddlebugerry Book Blog

Challenges:

Book # 85 of 2012

Blurb and Book Cover: Goodreads
Photo Credit: ShanaTalks

2 thoughts on “Easy

Leave a Reply

