It Takes a Man and a Woman

Sarah Geronimo and John Lloyd Cruz had proven once again that their tandem is a blockbuster hit. It Takes a Man and a Woman is the third installment of the highly anticipated love story of Laida Magtalas and Miggy Montenegro. I had a hard time convincing Jeff to come with me and watch the film given the long queue and Iron Man as its competitor but I finally managed to tag him along and watched it last week.

Type Her It Takes a Man and a Woman

Star Cinema and Viva Films, 20 minutes
Released on March 30, 2013
Romantic Comedy

Watched in April, 2013

The film follows the life of Miggy (John Lloyd Cruz) and Laida (Sarah Geronimo) after their break-up which occurred after the events in the second film.

Miggy, is now in a relationship with Belle (Isabelle Daza) while Laida is now a fiercer woman after living in the United States. They try to co-exist in the same company while Laida tries to oppose Miggy’s business decisions through a series of events which made them realize the real definition of true love.1

Director: Cathy Garcia-Molina
Writers: Carmi Raymundo & Raz de la Torre

Stars: John Lloyd Cruz, Sarah Geronimo, Isabelle Daza

+++

If you’ve read my Filipino movie reviews, you’d know that Sarah G. is my guilty pleasure. I’d seen the first two films and swear I wouldn’t miss the final installment. The teaser shown a month before its release was intriguing and was an enough push for movie goers (and those who’ve followed Laida and Miggy’s relationship) to see the film and find out how a happy, super in love couple broke up.

This third movie had the same formula that made the first two movies a hit. Sarah and John Lloyd’s chemistry is undeniable. Their sweet, kilig moments will make you smile.  And the hirits? It’ll give you hearty, boisterous burst of laughter! But what set this apart from the first two films are the maturity of the characters and the difficult situations they dealt with that made them who they are now. The feelings of betrayal, pain, lost and forgiveness added depth to the story.

The cast is commendable. Zoila and friends added fun to the film. Laida’s parents and Belle made the plot stronger. John Lloyd is good. He had the Miggy vibe we loved and hated. Sarah G. is as vibrant as ever. Her perky, chic demeanor is a contrast to the sophisticated, classy Belle. She still had the tendency to overact but since the supporting cast & John Lloyd carried her well, it isn’t as annoying as her other films. I liked it so why 3 Kiss Marks? I was amused but it failed to amaze me. It isn’t as bad as the other rom-coms I’ve seen in the past but the ending was a disappointment. Like, duhhh? The proposal and wedding are super-duper-mega-over-corny! Need I say more? I was close into giving this a 4-kiss mark rating but the last 10-15 minutes of the film ruined it.

If you are looking for a good Filipino rom-com to watch, put It takes a Man and a Woman in your list. And if you can’t convince your boyfriend(s) to come with you, don’t make them. Go watch it with friends. Trust me. I know. I owe him an action flick film for making him endure almost two hours of cheesiness (his words not mine).

Mediocre: I can tolerate it but I want more!

Mediocre: I can tolerate it but I want more!

3.5 Drama Awards - Acceptable but not eye catchy.

3.5 Drama Awards – Acceptable but not eye catchy.

Other Reviews:
TIT FOR TAT
elizabethramosgonzales
in the pink of

[1] Wikipedia
Movie Trailer: Viva Ent (YouTube)

One thought on “It Takes a Man and a Woman

Leave a Reply

