The Girl in the Steel Corset

The Girl in the Steel Corset had been sitting on my TBR list for almost two years before I decided to read it. It was part of my Off The Shelf Challenge in 2012 for e-books and I planned to finish it before the year ends but after the first chapter I stopped reading because I liked it so much I need to have a hard copy.

The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

Steampunk Chronicles #1
Trade Paperback, Harlequin Teen, 480 pages
YA, Steampunk

Read from January 07 to 13, 2013

In 1897 England, sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne has no one… except the “thing” inside her.

When a young lord tries to take advantage of Finley, she fights back. And wins. But no normal Victorian girl has a darker side that makes her capable of knocking out a full-grown man with one punch.

Only Griffin King sees the magical darkness inside her and says she’s special, says she’s one of them . The orphaned duke takes her in from the gaslit streets, against the wises of his band of misfits. And Finley thinks she might finally be a part of something, finally fit in-until a criminal mastermind known as Machinist threatens to tear the group apart.

 

I was on a book hunting rampage for almost a month, but no luck. I couldn’t find a copy in any local bookstores. My only option then was to order it from Book Depository but the wait to get it delivered will kill me (Yes, I was that desperate). It was the holiday season and I know the delivery would take some time. I included it in my GR wish list as a last resort in hope that a kindhearted bookish soul would give it to me.  And yes, someone did.

The “Grace” sisters gave this to me. Thank you Grace & Kai!

As everybody knows majority of the books I read are contemporary.  I seldom pick up UF/F/Steam punk novels but when I do, oh gosh, I devour them! TGitSC was part of my fantasy marathon in January and it’s an easy favorite. Cross’ debut novel is wow.

I like heroines who know how to kick some ass. Make them conflicted, bold, volatile and fearless—I’ll love them! Finley Jane has it all. She’s one helluva of a fighter. Having two personalities in one body makes her a psychological freak but it also made the plot exciting and different. It’ll make you wonder what side of her will win or if she’ll be able to come into terms with her evil dark side. It’s not that I’m pro-violence. I just like heroines who give me the “Charlie’s Angels” vibe (though Finley is far from being an angel).

Griffin King is O-KAAAY. Did I tell you I have a penchant for London Society? I was always fascinated with nobility. I read Historical Romance for this reason. And Griffin being a Duke makes him an automatic book boyfriend material! Haha. Seriously, it’s a plus but not entirely the reason why I find him a possible book boyfriend. He is nice. He doesn’t have the “you-can’t-touch-me-attitude” of a man in his position. He’s a gentleman. And he got a nice behind. Ayiii.

One of the things I liked in this book is how romance isn’t the main focus of the story. We know it’s there, we see how Griffin and Finley gradually develop their relationship but Cross didn’t deviate from the novel’s main plot to rush their budding romance. At least we have something to anticipate in this series. The supporting characters are fine too. I like Emily’s brilliant mind, Jasper’s happy-go-lucky, western attitude and Jack’s bad boy, mysterious aura. Sam is the only character I didn’t like in this book. He’s a stupid, selfish, ingrate man.

A lot had been said about this novel, but if you love taking risk and is up to reading something different, The Girl in a Steel Corset is a must try.

Fantabulous: I can’t stop talking about it!

Fantabulous: I can’t stop talking about it!

Other Reviews:
Dark Faerie Tales
reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.
ermilia

Challenges:

Book # 4 of 2013

Blurb and Cover Photo: Goodreads
Book Copy: Owned (Gift from Grace)

One thought on “The Girl in the Steel Corset

Leave a Reply

