Gu Family Book

I know I have yet to make a review for Rooftop Prince but this left me with bitter sentiments, I have to write it down first. I rarely post negative drama reviews for I usually drop them after a few episodes. But there are cases that I go through with it because 1) I’m still hoping for a miracle, 2) the lead actor is so pleasant in the eyes, or 3) I already wasted my time so wasting a few more wouldn’t make a difference.

Type Her구가의 서 / Gu Family Book

MBC, 24 Episodes
Broadcast Period 4/8/13-6/25/13
Historical Romance, Fantasy, Melodrama

Watched in July, 2013

A melodrama epic about the great deal of trouble Choi Kang Chi, born as a half-human-half-mythical-creature (or human werefox half-breed), who goes through in order to become human and a story of Choi Kang Chi’s journey of struggling in order to live more like a human than anyone else despite not being able to become human.

Director: Shin Woo Chul & Kim Jung Hyun
Writer: Kang Eun Kyun

Cast: Lee Seung Gi, Bea Suzy, Lee Sung Jae, Jo Sung Ha, Yoo Yun Suk

+++
Disclaimer: This contains spoilers and my endless merry rants.

Historical dramas are not really my thing. I watch them, yes, but I can count in one hand the dramas I’ve finished in this genre be it Sageuk, Taeha or Fusion. I drop most of them halfway out of boredom. If it wasn’t for my boyfriend who watched it with me (which I will never ever do again), I would have dropped this after 10 episodes or fast forwarded the remaining episodes so I can get over and done with it. We kept on fighting all through out because I want to know the ending immediately but he wouldn’t allow me to skip episodes! So there, I ended up enduring 24 episodes (note: 24+ hours) of recycled plot, one evil villain they can’t get rid off for more than 20 years, and an on and off search for a mystical book that the very existence is of question.

There are two things I don’t get in this series; 1) I never understood why this drama was dubbed the Korean “Twilight” when that isn’t a good basis for comparison since, as we all know, that saga is awful (I admit that once upon a time I was so enthralled with Edward but age, wisdom, and a hundred books after made me see how foolish I was and yes, I’m blaming that to teenage hormones)1, and 2) why it was titled Gu Family Book when the story didn’t revolve around it.

Starting the series with the back story was a good tactical move to make the viewers have an idea of what the story is about but the downside of it is that it would make or break how much they can hook the viewer’s interest. Whenever I watch series, I consider the first 6 episodes the most critical part of the drama because it would either make me continue or drop it. The problem with Gu Family Book is that they repeated exactly what happened 20 years ago to a different noble family with the same villain that didn’t even age with time considering that Olay or Botox are not yet present in this period. I’m no expert when it comes to Korea’s Joseon Era, however, I can’t help but question how a retired Assistant Minister get all his powers without the higher ups (King or Minister perhaps)  noticing that there is something wrong with its ranks. I would understand if he is still holding his position but retired? Do they really hold that much authority? I was so pissed off with this guy and I’m even more pissed with the good guys who can’t do anything to stop this villain. Pff.

I may not like the drama but this had one of the most awesome kissing scenes I’ve seen in Korean dramas. Source: Soompi

Another twist in the plot I didn’t appreciate was when Kang Chi’s mother came back and his father whose in deep slumber woke up to avenge whatever he wants to avenge. It’s so complicated! There’s so much going on with the current plot, they can’t even sustain the where-the-hell-is-that-mystical-book story line, and now another added side story? How the hell would they end this drama, closing all issues, in 24 episodes? And then came the bitch ending. That really was an icing on the cake.

My reaction? WT#&*r98*&(*#&%^@. Yes, I was that pissed. After all the stupid twists, after all the agitation I had for days, after everything, it has to end with death and a jump into the future. Gah. That was one of the worst ending I’ve seen in my history of watching Korean series. It left a whole lot of open issues (practically all of it) and opened another can of worms. Will the cycle repeat again? And this time, will they have a happy ending? But before those can be answered, one question remains the same; does the Gu Family Book even exist?

If you love Saeguk dramas and couldn’t care less of whatever happens in the story or you simply like Lee Seung Ki or Bae Suzy then you should watch Gu Family Book. You probably would enjoy it.

1.5

No-No: It’s not worthy of my time.

I’m giving the acting 2.5 Kiss Marks. Most of the cast are good and we know Lee Seung Ki can act. I only had a problem with some of them who can’t express their emotions as clear and as good as the others.

2.5 Drama Awards – Shallow.

2.5 Drama Awards – Shallow.

Other Reviews:
Give Me My Kdrama
The Drama Corner
Dramarantic

1 That is totally unrelated to the series. It’s just so happen that my rant-o-meter is off the charts and I want to write that. Hah.

Official Poster: Korean Drama
Drama Details: Drama Wiki

Leave a Reply

