One More Chance

I know this is long overdue. Who in their right minds haven’t seen this yet? Oh right, I am. I don’t know why but every time I try to watch this before I would always end up not watching the whole film. Whenever it’s being shown in local television, I would be doing something important and by the time I’m done, it would already be near the film’s ending.  If it happens to be the movie playing in a provincial bus I’m in off to my home town, I’d fall asleep then if I wake up, the movie’s done. So why just now?

A friend who recently went out of a relationship mentioned something about a 3-month rule before dating again and I was totally clueless. Every time I tell my friends I haven’t seen this film, they’d always look at me as if I’ve grown two heads. I decided to see what the fuss is all about and give this film a one more chance.

Type Her One More Chance

Star Cinema, 120 minutes
Released on November 14, 2007
Drama, Romance

Watched in May, 2013

Longtime couple Basha (Bea Alonzo) and Popoy (John Lloyd Cruz) are practically inseparable, so when they split up, it’s not surprising how heartbroken each feels. But Basha, stifled by the relationship, wants to spread her wings, and Popoy loves her too much to stand in her way. Struggling to build their lives anew, the onetime lovers face daily reminders of their happier times together even as they try to chart their own paths. [1[

Director: Cathy Garcia-Molina
Writers: Vanessa Valdez & Carmi Raymundo

Cast: Bea Alonzo, John Lloyd Cruz, Derek Ramsay, Maja Salvador

+++

I feel stupid for ranting how difficult it is to find a good Pinoy romcom/drama film in the past when in fact it’s just right in my face. One More Chance is a timeless film. No wonder a lot of Pinoys fell in love with the movie. It’s one of the most realistic, heartfelt, Filipino romantic drama film I’ve seen ever.

Relating to the story or with the characters is easy. Everyone who’s FB status says single, in a relationship, or complicated can find issues, situations or dialogues in this film that they can relate with. I’m on a 6-year relationship that started in college and I can say that these things could happen. I’ve seen a friend whose world crumbled when her 5-year relationship went to dust because of personal differences only to find out weeks after the break up that the guy already moved on with another girl. Another friend broke up with his fiancé and is trying to live a single life again. Though he may not show it to the word, he is hurting inside. Popoy and Basha, and their barkada‘s relationship/love story is not far from reality.

One of the things I like in this film is how their friends handled Popoy and Basha’s break up and how they support each other. It’s difficult to maintain a barkada [2[ formed in college and frequently see each other despite everyone’s busy lives. I also like how Popoy and Basha’s characters grew after the break up. But what I love most in this film are the dialogues. Oh my, the lines are to die for. Kudos to the writers, their words will hit you straight to the heart.

I know many of you are already familiar with these lines but because I really like them, I’m sharing my most favorite dialogues from the film. [3]

This was when Basha breaks up with Popoy:
Basha: I don’t even know kung tama ‘tong ginagawa ko, pero alam ko kailangan ko nang tapusin ‘to.
Popoy: Basha, mahal mo pa ba ‘ko?
Basha: Mahal kita pero ang sakit sakit na.
Basha: Poy, I’m so sorry.
Popoy: Five years? Itatapon mo lang lahat?
Basha: Kailangan ko to, kailangan mo rin.
Popoy: Pero ikaw ang kailangan ko
.

This was after the second gathering. It was when Popoy and Basha are working together for a project they promised Popoy’s Aunt.
Popoy: Eh ano nga kasi ang problema?
Basha: Gusto mo ba talagang malaman? Ako! ako yung problema! Kasi nasasaktan ako kahit di naman ako dapat nasasaktan. Sana kaya ko nang tiisin yung sa akin na nararamdaman ko, kasi ako namili nito diba? Ako yung may gusto. Sana kaya ko nang sabihin sa iyo na masaya ako para sa iyo, para sa inyo. Sana kaya ko. Sana kaya ko, pero hindi eh. Sama sama kong tao kasi ang totoo, umaasa pa rin ako sa piling mo. Sana ako pa rin. Ako na lang. Ako na lang ulit.
Popoy: Mahal ko si Trisha.
Basha: Alam ko.
Popoy: She had me at my worst. You had me at my best. Pero binalewala mo lang lahat yun.
Basha: Popoy, ganun ba talaga ang tingin mo? I just made a choice?
Popoy: And you chose to break my heart.

And of course, where the three month rule came from!
Popoy: Basha Alam mo ba ‘yung three month rule, ha?! Lahat ng taong nainlove at nakipagbreak ay alam yon. Magintay ka muna ng 3buwan, 3buwan bago ka magka-boyfriend ulit! Hindi mo alam yon?? May dalawang linggo pa’ko, eh! 2linggo pa… Ba’t ba kating-kati kang palitan ako?!

I’ve seen John Lloyd Cruz in numerous films and teleseryes [4] but only in OMC have I seen him in his finest. Bea Alonzo is also in her element in this film. And who would have forgotten the super hot Derek Ramsay? This is totally irrelevant to what I was going at but if he turns out to be my BFF after a break up, who am I to say no?  LOL

I know it’s too late to recommend this to the populace but in any case someone like me is out there, watch it already!

 

 

[1] Excerpt from Watch Filipino Movies
[2] Filipino street slang for group of friends, usually friendship formed since high school or college.
[3] The transcript of the lines are from Shane Exclusive.
[4] Philippine Drama

Other Reviews:
michreviewstheworld
story seeker, tale teller

Movie Details from Wikipedia
Video from paolo1434gm via YouTube

Leave a Reply

