Rainy Season Loot

September is here and so are the south-west monsoon, typhoons, and LPAs. It had been a rainy August. The country was stricken with flood a few weeks ago because of Maring and Habagat. I hope everyone is okay. September would still be rainy but we hope it wouldn’t be as bad as or worse than last month. But the good news with September is that it’s the start of the BER months! I know everyone is excited with the upcoming holidays even if it’s still a couple of months away.

Source: We Heart It

As you can see, this would be my first official entry for Stacking the Shelves! This has been going around the blogosphere since April and is being hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. Stacking the Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.[1] Just like my Shelved meme this was also inspired and an alternative of IMM. I’m not getting rid of Shelved but starting this month, I’ll be including STS in my Shelved posts.

The books I got recently are borrowed and given by friends. I’m still not buying brand new books lately but I love scouring bargain priced books in Booksale. I was really looking forward with NBS yearly 70% cut off sale every August but was disappointed that they decided to run the promo for just 10 days from August 30 – September 8. I went to different NBS branches but the selection isn’t as extensive as their promos in previous years. I don’t know if they’ll have another big sale just like last year at their main branch, I’d probably just go there if they’ll have it this year. Next week’s gonna be the 34th Manila International Book Fair and I’m hoping my schedule will allow me to go with my bookish friends.

Adding this to my pile of unread books. I have to stop tackling eBooks from my Kindle ASAP or my TBR would be as high as Mt.Everest if I don’t start reading my physical books. My reading slump isn’t as bad as before but it’s still a struggle—especially if it’s a physical book.

Bought:
Fury (The Fury Trilogy, #1) by Elizabeth Miles (HB, Booksale, Php 130)
The Dark Light by Sara Walsh (HB, Booksale, Php 130)
Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan (PB, NBS, Php 99)
 
Borrowed:
Love in Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia-Marquez (from Louie, an officemate)
Tall Story by Candy Gourlay (from Carry, a TFG member)
 
Received:
These books are from the Grace Sisters, Mommy Grace and Kai.
The Eternity Cure (Blood of Eden, #2) by Julie Kagawa
So Much Closer by Susane Colasanti
Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil
Entangled by Cat Clarke

I might not buy books for me this MIBF but I would need to buy Paper Towns by John Green for my cousin Glenda. Which reminds me, I have to read his Looking for Alaska and I need a copy of that too.

+++
Feature:

Shelved (8) features the books I bought, received or borrowed for the past month(s)
Stacking The Shelves (1) is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

2 thoughts on “Rainy Season Loot

  1. Shoshanah says:

    I’ve yet to read any of these. But I continue to hear so many great things about many of them, more specifically The Eternity Cure and Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

