Magic Bites

The Kate Daniel series had been on my radar since I started reading Urban Fantasy. Magic Bites was my reading companion when I went to Vigan last January and it was a nice way to pass the six hours travel time.

Type Her Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews

Kate Daniels, # 1
Mass Market Paperback, Ace, 260 pages
Urban Fantasy

Read in January, 2013

When the magic is up, rogue mages cast their spells and monsters appear, while guns refuse to fire and cars fail to start. But then technology returns, and the magic recedes as unpredictably as it arose, leaving all kinds of paranormal problems in its wake.

Kate Daniels is a down-on-her-luck mercenary who makes her living cleaning up these magical problems. But when Kate’s guardian is murdered, her quest for justice draws her into a power struggle between two strong factions within Atlanta’s magic circles.

The Masters of the Dead, necromancers who can control vampires, and the Pack, a paramilitary clan of shapechangers, blame each other for a series of bizarre killings—and the death of Kate’s guardian may be part of the same mystery. Pressured by both sides to find the killer, Kate realizes she’s way out of her league—but she wouldn’t have it any other way…

One thing I liked in UF is that the world building isn’t that difficult to imagine. However, I had a hard time wrapping my head with Kate’s magical world in almost half of the novel. The magic and tech waves confused me. But even though I had problems with the world building, Magic Bites is a fun book to read because Kate Daniels makes it interesting.

Kate knows how to kick some serious ass. She can be sarcastic but she can also be hilarious. She isn’t perfect. She makes mistakes and owns it. She has this mysterious background that would make you wonder at first but you’ll probably have your guess at the end or by the second book. If you like strong characters, Kate Daniels is someone you’d easily love.

I also appreciate that the romance didn’t over power the theme and plot. The sexual tension between the Beast Lord and Kate will make you anticipate what will happen in their relationship in the next books. We have something to look forward to and it wouldn’t be easy to guess if they would end up together or not. Their push and pull chemistry will drive you crazy.

I gave Magic Bites 3 Kiss Marks because it was not easy for me to understand Kate’s Atlanta but aside from that I find it okay. The action scenes are awesome. The mystery won’t be answered in the first book though you would have a hunch anyway. I want to have a reading plan this year but, heck, Ilona Andrews makes it difficult. After reading Magic Bites, I want to finish all of them pronto!

Mediocre: I can tolerate it but I want more!

Mediocre: I can tolerate it but I want more!

P.S. I want to add photos from my trip and the book but my phone gave up on me last week. I don’t have access to my photo archives. 😦

Challenges:

Book # something of 2013

Other Reviews:
TIMEWANTSASKELETON
Book Lovers for Life
Late Nights with Good Books

Blurb and Book Cover: Goodreads & Ilona Andrews Official Website
Book Copy: Owned

Leave a Reply

