That Kind of Guy

Manang is commonly used as a term for an elder sister or an older female. It’s also used to show respect when speaking to an elder woman who you don’t know by name. [1] This is also used to describe an old maid or a laid back, conservative female or someone who isn’t easily swayed by today’s mainstream culture. So what happens when a Filipina Manang meets a hot, player guy that is totally out of her league?

Type Her

That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esguerra

Paperback, Summit Books, 170 pages
Chick Lit

Read on May 28, 2013

Good girl Julie never expected her hot former-player boyfriend to propose marriage. But when he did, she turned him down for reasons even she couldn’t figure out. Will she settle for a nice, safe guy instead? Or will she let him find his way back into her carefully guarded heart?

+++
+++
+++
+++
This is the third Mina V. Esguerra book I’ve read and she still makes me giddy and mushy with her storytelling. I love most of the guys in her books and as a self-confessed sucker for reformed bad/play boys expect fangirling in this review. But I promise to keep the fangirling to a minimum, there are a lot of things to like in this book and the uber hot Anton is just an icing on the cake. Yes, that’s the tame version of my fangirling! Haha!

Certainty is sexy. – Julie

Julie is your typical goody two-shoes. Meeting and dating a guy that is the exact opposite of her lifestyle would certainly raise doubt and insecurities that would make you question whether this would last or if she’s just a passing flame. I don’t blame her for wanting an established relationship. Who wouldn’t want to have that special someone you are certain you’ll end up with? Not all of Julie’s decisions in her life are right but I don’t have to be manang to understand her. I like how her relationship with Anton grew and how she learned to accept change. She is aware that they don’t have anything in common. They have different types of friends, hang out places and hobbies. Yes, she’s innocent and all but she isn’t stupid to just fall for a pretty face. She did try to avoid Anton, right?

One of the things I like in Mina’s heroines is how they evolve through out the story. Julie blossomed from an uptight, conforming girl to a woman who knows what she wants, what she needs and how to get it. Certainty is sexy, yes, but there are also things that are worth risking for. Her decisions are somewhat stupid, who wouldn’t say yes to someone like Anton? (I would definitely say yes!), but it’s her way of finding what she truly wants in life. And even if it pissed me to death that she has to compare herself to Anton’s ex-es, chronicle their time and reasons for breaking up, doubt the guy’s intentions, try to settle for a good guy, and then experience how Anton treats his ex-es, I still salute her for not taking the easy route. In the end, she came out victorious.

Now Anton, oh-lalala Anton, is the typical player, bad boy kind of guy that most girls fell for which good guys can’t understand why. [2] If you’ve read Mina’s books before, he is Carla’s best friend in No Strings Attached and Lucas’s roommate/office mate in Fairy Tale Fail. I haven’t read all of Mina’s books yet but he is, by far, the most in-depth male lead in her novels. He is also a proof that players also do fall in love. Anton is a swoon-worthy guy but Lucas is still my first love.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

Note:
“Who wouldn’t say yes to someone like Anton? I would definitely say yes!” << This is me fangirling.

Honestly, if I was in Julie’s shoes, I would also decline the proposal but I’ll clearly explain why. It was just a wrong move from Anton to propose after getting the cherry popped. That is so medieval. The fact that he never had a relationship with someone like Julie would make me doubt his intentions. Guilt, regret and responsibility are the reasons in my head why he proposed. I know, that is so judgmental but you can’t blame me for thinking that way, right? 11 months may not be enough for Julie to really know Anton but one thing I know is for sure, all girls out there who want to be married one day would want to do it for love and not out of obligation. The four-letter word is important.

[1] Definition from Urban Dictionary
[2] Reminds me of a discussion in the green car in one of TFG’s late night talkathon after an F2F. We even had a poll about this in FB!

Other Reviews:
Random Reviews PH
The Solitary Bookworm 
Perfect Nostalgia 

Challenges:

Book # something of 2013

Blurb and Photo Credit: Goodreads
Book Copy: Owned

One thought on “That Kind of Guy

Leave a Reply

