2014 Reading Plan (but in reality, it’s reading #whatever)

I was considering 2014 Reading #whatever as this post’ title but I like to humor myself and feel the “feels” of having a reading plan although I don’t really follow them. It’s still January so this is still counted, right? Before I dig in to my, ahem, “2014 Reading Plan”, let’s have a summary of what I have been reading in 2013 (which basically consist of #whatever books).

Click here for the list of books I read last year.

+++

+++

  • I read a total of 132 books which is fairly good considering that I had the worst and longest reading slump to date last year.
  • It also had been a year of contemporaries (81 books) which is expected. It’s my go-to-genre when I don’t feel like really reading.  It works like my comfort food.
  • I read a bunch of Urban Fantasy last year. I started and read most of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series. I also started Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter series.
  • But the best UF I had this year is Ilona Andrew’s Kate Daniel series. When I checked my reading list, I started the year with Magic Bites and ended it with Magic Slays.
  • New Adult is not entertaining anymore. It’s the bulk of most of my 1 – 3.5 ratings. The plots are repetitive and the formula they’re following (emotionally wounded or with a dark past/bad boy/ leads, lots and lots and lots of emotional and/or family drama, and sex, sex, sex, and sex)  are enough to make me want to pull my hair out.
  • As you can see, I only gave three books 5 kiss marks this year. These are The Girl in the Steel Corset, Magic Strikes and The Real Score.
  • My best and worst reads for 2013 are both from Filipina authors. My worst read is She’s Dating a Gangster by Bianca  B. Bernardino. The best read I had is Kesh Tanglao’s The Real Score. I’m not really your average contemporary reader, I can say that I read most, if not all, possible contemporary plots out there and these two are the worst and best in the lot that you can find these days.

For other challenges I had last year, click here.

Now for 2014:

  • 52 Books for my Goodreads Challenge.
  • Finish the following series I started some time ago:

– Healer by Maria V. Snyder (books 2-3)
– Unearthly by Cynthia Hand (book 3)
– Divergent by Veronica Roth (book 3)
– Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (book 3)

  • Continue the following series (read at least 1-2 books):

The Infernal Devices and The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare
– Lux by Jennifer L. Armentrout
– Percy Jackson and The Olympians by Rick Riordan

  • Go back to YA.
  • Put NA at the back of my head as much as possible.
  • Start reading the following series:

– Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness
– Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
– Penryn & the End of Days by Susan Ee
– Harry Potter by J.K Rowling

  • Read more books by Filipino Authors.
  • Read at least 6 TFG books.
  • Classic. Yes, Jane Austen, we’ll see each other this year.
  • And last but definitely the most important bullet from this list, try to follow this plan.

P.S. Because I wasn’t in the mood to open GR for most of last year, the books I’ve read weren’t added in my shelf. I had to do that on the first day of 2014. Adding 100 plus books in one day is an experience I don’t want to go through again.

9 thoughts on “2014 Reading Plan (but in reality, it’s reading #whatever)

  1. Maria says:

    Yay to your reading plans this year!

    Is the Healer series of MVS is the one with Avry and Kerrick in it? If yes, I plan to finish this series too, this year 😀

    • Alona says:

      Hi, Kimi! I hope I can start reading the series this year. I kindda felt tired of being the odd one out whenever HP is the topic of my bookish friends. 😉

Leave a Reply

