Blackout

Rise up while you can – Georgia Mason

This is one of the series I never want to end. But all good things come to an end, right? It’s time to say goodbye to one of my most favorite reads of all time.

Type HerBlackout by Mira Grant

Newsflesh Trilogy, # 3
Mass Paperback, Orbit Books, 672 pages
Science Fiction

Read from July 01, 2012 to August 02, 2013

The year was 2014. The year we cured cancer. The year we cured the common cold. And the year the dead started to walk. The year of the Rising.

The year was 2039. The world didn’t end when the zombies came, it just got worse. Georgia and Shaun Mason set out on the biggest story of their generation. They uncovered the biggest conspiracy since the Rising and realized that to tell the truth, sacrifices have to be made.

Now, the year is 2041, and the investigation that began with the election of President Ryman is much bigger than anyone had assumed. With too much left to do and not much time left to do it in, the surviving staff of After the End Times must face mad scientists, zombie bears, rogue government agencies-and if there’s one thing they know is true in post-zombie America, it’s this:

Things can always get worse.

Blackout is the conclusion to the epic trilogy that began in the Hugo-nominated Feed and the sequel, Deadline.

Note: I’ll try to make this review spoiler free but just in case I slip; a warning to those who haven’t read the series, this review may contain spoilers.

I read Blackout in my most difficult reading slump to date. It was a good decision I picked this up because I would never find a book that could exactly describe how I felt in those days. “Rise up while you can” is Georgia Mason’s cry to the public from book one but it was only in book three that I appreciated that statement. The timing was perfect. I never thought I’d relate to anything in a post apocalyptic even more so a zombie book but surprisingly, I did. I realized it was time to move on from what was bothering me in one of the lowest moments of my existence.

Feed was shocking and heartbreaking. Deadline was intense and heart-stopping. Blackout was a combination of both. It’s entertaining at the very end and as good as the previous books. It was a nice conclusion of a series that left everyone at the edge of their seats waiting for whatever scary, unexpected revelation Mira Grant will give her readers. The conspiracy the After the End Times was chasing from the very beginning comes to an end and the story and the characters we came to love bids their goodbye.

It was good that we got the answers for most, if not all, of our questions from the previous books. I liked it that Shaun and Georgia had the happy ending we wanted them to have though we probably have different expectations with how it’s gonna end from what Mira Grant gave us. The twist in their relationship was a surprise but if you’re the type of reader who are very keen in details, you might have noticed from book one that there is something in how Shaun and Georgia treats each other so the ending of their story won’t be as shocking as it was to me. If we met the rest of the After the End Times team in Deadline, we get to know them more in Blackout and see them in more zombie action. We bid painful goodbye to some of the characters we grew to love from Deadline which is not new in a Mira Grant book. I’m glad I wasn’t that emotionally invested to them as I was in Feed so it didn’t hurt that bad but it still made me sad.

Overall the trilogy has a strong plot and deep, plausible characterization. Feed will still be the best in the series if we are to talk about plot and shocking events. Blackout is a nice icing on the cake and an explosive conclusion on a very thrilling-suspense trilogy. But for me Deadline is still my favorite.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

Trivia: I tried reading this in 2012 and I think I reached until they met The Monkey. There was a line there about MMORPG that The Cat threw in that I didn’t understand. It was only when I read the novel again in 2013 that I finally understood what she meant with this:

It was partly because I got addicted with MMORPGs for most of last year. It’s funny that even in reading books the mechanics of MMORPG won’t leave me.

Related Reviews:
Feed
Deadline

Other Reviews:
The Quiet Voice
20four12
Myseryniti

Challenges:

Book # 88 of 2013

*****
Blurb & Book Cover: Goodreads
Status Images: Author’s FB
Book Copy: Borrowed from Maria

3 thoughts on “Blackout

  1. Maria says:

    I miss this series 😦 and hooray for Deadline as your favorite! It was mine, too 🙂 I got sulky and depressed because of Shaun.

    and Becks…..! my heroine. hehehe

  2. Thomas says:

    Great review, and I’m glad that you enjoyed Blackout even if Deadline is your favorite – gotta love it when you can appreciate every book in a series for something different. (:

Leave a Reply

