Bookish Love Affair

Something was off last weekend. I was craving for books. It shouldn’t be a shock, right? I love books obviously but for some reason I didn’t buy books for half a year. I still visit bookstores whenever I can but the urge of getting a new book isn’t there. Usually seeing, browsing and smelling books are enough for my book fetish but it was different that day. I’m being dramatic, I know, but Jeff agreed to come with me and let me buy books when normally he’s a jealous, control freak boyfriend with my book love affair. That counts for something, right?

The last time I made a Shelved post was mid-2013? I shared some of the books I received on Instagram last month but I didn’t post any on the blog. Anyway, here are they: (I have to literally dig some of these books to get pictures of them because I already put all my books in a sealed plastic container for storage. I only have a few out that are on my TBR.  Hmf, the effort to have this posted.)

Pegasus (Pegasus #1) by Robin McKinley
Vaclav and Lena by Haley Tanner
Jepp, Who Defied the Stars by Katherine Marsh
Divine by Mistake (Partholon #1) by P.C. Cast
Surfacing by Nora Raleigh Baskin
Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters by Natalie Standiford
Robopocalypse by Daniel H. Wilson

Mommy Grace gave these books in November from her sister’s bookshelf. She also gave me books for Christmas and my birthday. I think Grace gave the Jepp book because of Jeff. Hahaha! I gave the Melissa Marr book (not included in the photo) to my cousin because she wants a copy and I guess I’d never read it so better give it to someone who will.

Pure (Pure #1) by Julianna Baggott

I got this from the 3rd ReaderCon. Actually, Angus got it from the raffle. For some time I had this on my to buy list so I groveled, pleaded and begged him to give me the copy (really, I didn’t but he did give it to me, Christmas gift na raw niya.) See those bookmarks? One thing I liked in going to book events, aside from free books, is getting lots and lots and lots of free bookmarks!

Hellion by Bertrice Small
The Wedding Escape (Orphan #3) by Karyn Monk
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness

That’s my TFG Christmas loot. I didn’t really want to grab books from the yearly book pile we have for Christmas but no one wants to get these PHR romance and historical-romance books. Some of those are from Maria and the bestest book I got for the year, Chaos Walking book one!

Parang Kayo, Pero Hindi by Noringai

These are from my officemate, Louie. She gave me so many memo pads it a shame if I’d forget any in my to-do list.  She bought the book for a friend but because I was so persistent in wanting to have a copy but was too lazy to go to NBS, she gave the copy as a loan. There might not be copies on payday so I’ll pay her back next pay out. #userfriend! Haha!

The Isle of Blood (The Monstrumologist #3) by Rick Yancey

I bought this in Booksale for Php 60, I think October of 2013. There is a little tear at the jacket but I thought it was a good buy for that price. So I’m back in my bookish dilemna of having the 3rd book of a series without reading the previous books first. (I never learn. I had the same problem with Chaos Walking series before. Hahaha!) I have to look for cheap copies of the others books; maybe I’ll chance a copy again in Booksale. Maybe.

Vesper (Deviants #1) by Jeff Sampson
Extraordinary by Nancy Werlin

These are the books I bought from NBS last Sunday. They were on sale. I only got them for Php 125. I do want to buy books that is on my to buy list and not just random on sale book grabs but that has to wait because my NBS visit that day was incidental. I also saw an HB copy of Pandenomium for Php 150 only. Once upon a time I would’ve have been ecstatic in finding a cheap buy like that even if I didn’t like the first book. I’d get it for uniformity’s sake when arranging books in my shelf (since I had the HB copy of Delirium. I gave it away, though I wouldn’t buy it now even if I still had the first book.)

There was one book I really, really want to buy that day. I saw books one to three of Harry Potter. I hesitated. I went to NBS then texted Tina to confirm if HP Philosopher’s Stone and HP Sorcerer’s Stone are the same. She said yes and explained that the former is the UK Edition. The three books in Booksale are all UK Ed. I went back but someone just bought the books a few minutes ago, like two minutes ago! I guess, HP and I are not meant to be. I’ll just borrow the first book. It’s still part of my reading plan this year. It’s a long overdue read.

+++
+++

Feature:

Shelved (9) features the books I bought, received or borrowed for the past month(s)
Stacking The Shelves (2) is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

5 thoughts on “Bookish Love Affair

  1. booketta says:

    You did well. Enjoy! I get that I crave books at times, like chocolate huh? Anyway, I’m having a dry patch to make up for my mad incoming earlier this year.

Leave a Reply

