Love Show

It’s rather difficult to stay away from NA when you are craving for a quick, contemporary read. I said I would put NA as my last pick in books as much as possible but I was really, really emotionally and romantically frustrated (translation: bitter) for the Love Month, I have to read a cheesy, uncomplicated, lovey-dovey book. I know, “uncomplicated” is a term that can’t be associated with NA but I was intrigued with Love Show’s synopsis I want to give it a try, I can always give a one-star/kiss mark rating if it turns out as a typical NA BS anyway.

Type HerLove Show by Audrey Bell

Kindle Edition, Self-Published, 354 pages
NA Contemporary

Read on February 17, 2014

Hadley Arrington is the career-driven editor-in-chief of her university’s prestigious newspaper. Jack Diamond is a laidback student whose good looks have made things even easier than they need to be. She’s the girl who came out of nowhere and kissed him in the rain. He’s the boy who made her do something crazy.

When the stakes seem too high, they have to decide if they’ll let their love show or if they’ll walk away for good.

I never even thought of liking Love Show because NA disappointed me numerous times I lost count. Love Show is a surprise. It has a different, refreshing take on NA tropes which deviates it from the common nuisances in NA. It was still set in college, our lead characters have troubled past like always and they still have sex but they weren’t predominant in the novel. They actually went through something that isn’t thick with family, love and/or sex issues.

I’m so glad I found an NA novel that can pass as a good read. The characters weren’t dysfunctional, although they still have flaws. I really liked the fact that they are willing to sacrifice their relationship in exchange of fulfilling their dreams. Hadley Arrington stayed true to her character when she decided to pursue what she wanted while Jack Diamond let go of something he really wanted due to his issues in the past that not even one great true love can erase. I find those realistic. The characters developed certain aspecst of their personalities and lives but they weren’t drastic, love-driven or sex-driven changes.

Mediocre: I can tolerate it but I want more!

Mediocre: I can tolerate it but I want more!

If you’re tried of the usual stuff in New Adult, Love Show is a nice change to that. I would still read NA but not like before that anything goes. Choosy na ‘ko. Chos!

Other Reviews:
READS AND THOUGHTS
Bookish Briefs
Sam’s Book Basket

Challenge:

Book # 14 of 2014

Leave a Reply

