Filipino Friday 2014: Week 1 and 2

It’s the time of year again for Filipino Fridays which means the Filipino ReaderCon 2014 is just around the corner!

We’re already in week two (and it’s a Saturday today but it’s still Friday somewhere, right?) so my post for this week includes the topic we had last week.

Week 1: Surprise, Reader!

“Surprise, Reader! Hello, it’s the first week of Filipino Fridays 2014! Whether it’s your first time to participate or not, tell us a bit about yourself. More specifically, tell us about your favorite book discoveries for this year. Any author you started reading this year that you can’t get enough of? A book you didn’t think you’d like, but you ended up liking/loving? Any book series that you just have to get your hands on? Have you discovered anything new from Filipino authors this year?”

Favorite Discoveries:

  • Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg – As much as possible, I avoid reading depressing books. It took me a lot of convincing to try this one. Good thing I did because it turned out to be one of my favorite reads this year.
  • A Kingdom of Dreams and Something Wonderful by Judith McNaught – I had a phase this year when all I want to read are Historical Romance books specifically with Dukes in it. One of the best discoveries I had was Judith McNaught’s Westmoreland Saga. I love medieval love stories and they always end in HEA.
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – I started the series in January and I have yet to finish the series but I would never regret diving into the Chaos Walking madness.

Series I liked:

  • Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi – I was hesitant to start reading the series early this year because I stopped reading Young Adult novels for some time. With a little push from my bookish friends who loves to read dystopian novels, I read it and I’m done with the series now! That’s a feat because the last time I finish a YA series within a year was (thinks), I can’t remember.

New Authors: They aren’t really new. They’d been around for years but it’s the first time I tried their books.

  • Rainbow Rowell – I read her Landline a few months ago and I agree with all Rowell fans out there, she writes with a heart.
  • R.L. Matthewson – I love trying indie authors. Matthewson is one of the good discoveries I had this year when I was randomly reading contemporary novels.
  • Noringai – I wasn’t even aware she exists not until a compilation of her articles online was made into a book. She writes about life and she writes it from the heart—and that captivated me.

Week 2: Have you ever wanted to write a book?

“As a reader, have you ever thought about writing a book? What kind of books/stories do you want to write? Or are you now a published author, and what compelled you to go fulfil this dream? How was your journey from reader to writer? How did you go about getting your book out there?”

Yes, I want to but I don’t know if I can. For years I’d been trying to start a novel but I would always stop after a few chapters. I would probably write contemporary romance because that’s what I always read. I even attended a romance writing class hosted by a local publisher three years ago but nothing happened. I cringe whenever I’m writing the “kilig” scenes. Well, I guess I like reading love stories, but I don’t want to write them. I don’t know if I’ll give up the dream. I would still try, maybe.

As always, I’m late in making a post for this again. See you next Friday? I hope I can post it on time.

Leave a Reply

