Twenty Three + Five

Growing old is mandatory but growing up is optional.

There is something with age that women never want to talk about. Whenever someone asks me my age (especially in game) I would always say I’m twenty-ish. It’s not that I don’t wanna count, at one point I did stopped at twenty-five but when I reached my late-twenties, age became just a number. No matter how old you get, if you haven’t matured, your biological age is nothing.

The first thing I thought of when I woke up is, “Fudge, I’m two years away from turning 30.” Yes, as I’ve said it’s just a number but there is something grave about it when girls think of the big 3-0. I guess it really doesn’t matter especially if you don’t look your age. Hurray to being small! They always think I’m five years younger from my real age.

This year marks new beginnings in my life. I’m happy and at the same time scared at the idea that I’m twenty-eight and single. I’d been in a relationship for more than half a decade and now that I’m out of it, it seems that I don’t even know how to be single again. I’m starting everything from scratch.  In a birthday post I made last year, I said that change is just around the corner and that did happen last year. Now this year, I’m happy to claim that it’s going to be an adventure.

A birthday blog post won’t be complete without a wish list, right? When I think about what I want to get for this year instead of asking for tangible things, I thought of what my heart really wants and I came up with this list:

Faith. You guys know that I’d been in a journey of finding faith since last year. It wasn’t easy. I’m still in on my way of finding my faith. It isn’t as dark as when I started last year but I’ve been praying that God lead my heart to where He is. If I was afraid to take a leap last year, now I’m letting go of the reins. I’ll let God be the driver of this journey. And I’m really, really praying and hoping that this year I’ll arrive at that destination.

Joy. A friend taught me that you can find delight in everything. You don’t have to be with someone to be happy. You can be happy alone. And if God will give me someone who would put a smile on my face, then that’s a bonus. I want to find joy in everything. In little things I didn’t thought of before. I’ll start small then let’s gradually go big.

Love. Who doesn’t want love, right? I want my heart to know what love is. It doesn’t have to be a romantic love. That will come in time. I know that. What I am asking for is in general; to love and give love and feel love and be in love.  Same in joy, you can find love in everything. And that’s what I want.

Good Health.  I don’t have to explain this one, yes? It’s a little stricter for me because of my family’s medical history but I know everyone wants a healthy mind and body and that has to start with a healthy lifestyle.

I think that’s all? I made a list before I made this and out of 7, these are the things I think I need the most. Some on my list, I already crossed out, some is for the future. Do you want to know what’s in my bucket list this year? It has everything to do with travel or maybe not necessarily.

Beach. I want to visit a beach this year. My target is at least three. The last time I went to the beach was in 2011 when the Book Club went to Alabat Island. This year, I want to see three Bs: Baler, Bolinao and Boracay.

Hiking. In my recent Baguio trip, I learned that I love the quietness of nature and I love to try and go to unexplored trails. I want the silence of nature. It calms your heart and mind. So this year I want to go hiking either in Mt. Pinatubo or somewhere in Benguet.

Adventure. I want to explore. And I feel that I’ll have the biggest adventure of my life yet this 2015.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to cross out these three before the year ends. I still have eleven months to do that. Come and travel with me friends! Let’s enjoy what life has to offer.

  P.S. Because I can’t help it. I’ll make this list because I have to remember that I need to get them in a few weeks or so:

– Sharpee colorful pens
– A new corkboard
– 3rd book of the Chaos Walking Trilogy UK Edition ONLY
– HB copy of Boundless

Hello, Twenty-Eight!

But really, that’s Twenty-Three + Five.

.
.
Feature:
Miss A. Talks
Miss A. Talks (15) Rave and rants of everything under the sun.

******
Other Images: Tumblr

3 thoughts on “Twenty Three + Five

  1. thelovelyrhythm says:

    You’re right, “Growing Old is Mandatory but growing up is optional”. Next Month, I am next. haha! Happy Birthday Alona! I’ll look forward for more Drama Reviews in your blog this 2015.^^~

Leave a Reply

