Sadness Creeps In

I am sad not because of the things I’ve said
But because of the things I’ve left unsaid
I am sad not because I realized my mistakes
But because it took me so long to see them

I am sad not because I learned how stubborn I am
But because I never learned how to bend a little
I am sad not because I am listening now
But because I never listen to reason then

I am sad not because I finally accepted change
But because I realized it too late
I am sad not because I found the drive now
But because I went too long without it

I am sad not because of the people around me
But because of the person I became
I am sad not because of the faith I’m rebuilding now
But because I never willingly let go of the reigns

I am sad not because of the smile I see in the mirror
But because of the sadness I see in my eyes
I am sad not because I have decided to be better a person
But because I wasn’t for the longest time

I am sad but I will not be sad forever
Because I finally knew what is missing
I am sad but I will get past this
Because I know that I will get through this

It is not about the past or the present
But because of what I am willing to face to see my future
It is not about what I see and feel here
But because of what I don’t see but believe in

I know the road will not be easy
Change doesn’t happen overnight
I know the sadness won’t immediately go away
Healing will take time

Acceptance is just around the corner
Love is just waiting there
The sadness won’t last forever
Because I feel that His presence is always there

3 thoughts on “Sadness Creeps In

Leave a Reply

