Baguio ’14: Day One

The last time Portmanteau went on an out of town trip was 3 years ago in Laguna for an EK experience. After that most of our trips were spent with other friends. We’ve all been busy with our respective lives for the past years; finding time to spend with the group is next to impossible. We still see each other at times especially during TFG events but beyond that we are contended with the occasional PMs in FB. It was only during the third quarter of last year that we started seeing each other more often.

I didn’t actually plan to have this trip with the Portmanteau. Originally I was supposed to go to Baguio with some of my office mates but because of other trips they can’t cancel, they backed out. I really, really wanted to go and I was already considering going alone but I remembered I have kaladkarin Portmanteau friends so I sent a PM blast asking them if they want to join me. We decided to meet for dinner and viola! We are going to Baguio! We wanted all four of us to go to the trip but Sheryl has a previous engagement she can’t cancel. Plus this is really an impromptu plan.

We almost had to cancel this because I had my hair dyed a week before we leave and I didn’t know I’m allergic to dyes! Rashes came out of my face and arms I thought I’m having measles. Thank God for derma and antihistamines, I went back to normal before our travel. We went up to Baguio the night of November 21st. I was dead tired from walking around SM North EDSA the whole afternoon I was asleep from Manila to Baguio.

We arrived in Baguio at 3 am and I was shivering to death because it may sound stupid, I was wearing short shorts. You know the typical shorts you see here in Manila when you’re out for a walk or roaming around the mall. What? I don’t like travelling in jeans. I just didn’t realize it was that cold. Fine, it was November I should have expected that but I’m a shorts girl. I can’t—. I just—enough excuses.

Last minute planning season. Where do we want to go? What do we want to eat?

We don’t really know where to go. We just know that we want to eat, walk, eat, drink coffee, walk, and eat. Being bookworms, we all agree in one thing; bookstores are the first in the list of the places we have to visit and we have to do that in our first day. We also love movies and a movie ticket in Baguio is waaaay cheaper than what we usually pay in Metro Manila movie theatres. So movie it is.

Prepping to go out. What is Christmas season if  we won’t get a picture with The Tree, right?

Out first bookstore stop is BookEnds somewhere along Session Road. There are a lot of YA books. I think I saw the complete series of Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy. I was so tempted to buy the books but I know I’ll have more than enough luggage to bring home because of the pasalubongs.

Of course if there is SM in the city I’m pretty sure there’s Booksale somewhere. I don’t have a photo of the shop (all of their branches looks the same anyway) but I was able to get a picture of their event center which at that time is decorated with a Frozen set.

There was an on going free photo session and we were all so tempted to line up and have a few pictures taken but we are running out of time. We are only spending 2 days in Baguio we have to make the trip worth it.

We had lunch at O Mai Khan. Because we are running out of time we only ate Mongolian something, their signature ensaladang talong salad and a few desserts. Their carrot cake and calamansi cake are to die for. I didn’t even have the time to take a few snaps of our food because we have to immediately go back to SM to watch Big Hero 6. Here are some photos of other travelers who tried their dishes and were smart enough to get a food photo.

   

Image Credit

Our next stop after the movie is another bookstore. On to the clouds of books!

And of course visiting a bookstore won’t be complete without a book or shelves #selfies.

After spending most of the day in bookstores, we went to coffee shops next. If there is one thing that can contest our love for books, it has to be blended coffees.

I can’t remember the name of this second café we visited. Ingrid said it’s owned by one of her friend’s parents.

Our last stop for the day is Café Klatsch. We met with some of my gamer friends who I met online. One of Ingrid’s high school friends also went there. Their food isn’t that great. It’s overpriced including the beverage but their live music is the best.

We went to Kubo Grill for a quick hot calamansi drink for the girls and alcohol for the boys.

An unusual friendship formed in an unusual place. We aren’t just gaming friends anymore. Imagine, they’re humans! Hahaha.

That’s it for our first day. We went home at around 2 in the morning, I think. The second day of our trip will be written by Ingrid.

If you wish to see better copies of the images visit this page.

P.S. Because this trip was soooo long ago, I can’t for the life of me remember any quotable quotes from the girls. We all agree with one though:

Portmanteau Stamp:

Visited: Bookends, Booksale, O Mai Khan, Mt. Cloud, Book Tree Cafe, Cafe Klatsch, Kubo Grill
Place: Baguio

Travel Dates: November 22-23, 2014
Adventurers: Alona, Ingrid and Cary

Feature:

Portmanteau’s (mis)Adventures (2)
A semi-regular meme of the things Portmanteau did (adventure or not) or any activity we had together that is worth mentioning.

***** All images in this post are owned by the author unless otherwise stated.

5 thoughts on “Baguio ’14: Day One

    • Alona says:

      I was trying so hard to remember, really. You know how forgetful I am when it comes to names. I even forget your names when I am introducing you to new people!

  1. Lynai says:

    Mt. Cloud! I so regret not being able to visit it the last time I was in Baguio. The photos are lovely, I feel bad all the more haha!

    • Alona says:

      Put it at the top of your to go list the next time you visit Baguio. 🙂 The place is very nice. Although, we didn’t buy any books. We find it expensive kasi. Don’t forget to have your booksreading/bookshelves selfie!

Leave a Reply

