Top Ten Inspirational Quotes from Books

An original feature/weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Trimming down the quotes I like is a challenge. I like putting so many quote markers in books I read or highlight every sentence I like when I’m reading K (the Kindle), so imagine how many quotes I have to go through to make this list. I don’t know if you’ll find some of the ones I have here as “inspirational” but these are the quotes that at one point of my life affected me most because whether I admit it or not, they hit home.

+++

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”
― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

For some time, I never admitted to myself why I like this quote so much. It was such a sad realization to accept at the time when I was feeling so low and thinking of what this quote meant will just make me feel more sad. It wasn’t entirely good but the bottom line is, why settle?

+++

 

“You can obsess and obsess over how things ended—what you did wrong or could have done differently—but there’s not much of a point. It’s not like it’ll change anything. So really, why worry?”
― Jess Rothenberg, The Catastrophic History of You and Me

Taking a step away from what you’re used to is difficult but once you’re out, stop thinking of the past. Rothenberg is right; there’s not much of a point. Stop worrying about the past. Learn from it and move on. A mantra I’ve been telling myself for the recent months.

+++

 

“Even if someone wasn’t perfect or even especially good, you couldn’t dismiss the love they felt. Love was always love; it had a rightness all its own, even if the person feeling the love was full of wrongness.”
― Marisa de los Santos, Love Walked In

Love Walked In was one of the books I read (of all time I think) that has so many quote markers because the author write beautiful and meaningful words. LWI is officially my #HugotRead for 2015. This quote is one of my favorites and most hated because no matter how I feel, I should be grateful with the love I’m receiving even if I think the person feeling the love is full of wrongness. Afterall, Love is love.

+++


“Everyone feels lost and low. Its how a person acts that makes them different.”
― Veronica Rossi, Under the Never Sky

Who hasn’t feel lost and low at one point of your lives? We all go through that. This quote was so powerful for me because if I let how I feel run my life, I wouldn’t get up from whatever rabbit hole I’m in. Life doesn’t stop when God gives you challenges to face.

+++

 

“There are no wrong turnings. Only paths we had not known we were meant to walk.”
― Guy Gavriel Kay, Tigana

Have you ever thought of the possibility of what could have happened if you did this or didn’t do that? When we make mistakes we sometimes think that we made the wrong decision. This quote made me believe that whatever things we do, whatever path we decide to take, it was no coincidence.

+++

  

“Sometimes, as we’re stumbling along in the dark, we hit something good.”
– Susan Ee, Angelfall

This is a very recent favorite. If you have been following my posts recently you’d have an idea of what’s going on in my personal life. I realized that when you are walking in the dark, it doesn’t mean that it’s going to be dark forever because along the way you’ll find the light or find the path of what your heart desires.

+++

 

misgivings, n.
Last night, I got up the courage to ask you if you regretted us.
“There are things I miss,” you said. “But if I didn’t have you, I’d miss more.” 

― David Levithan, The Lover’s Dictionary

This is not originally in my favorite entries from Levithan’s The Lover’s Dictionary. When I read this, it felt right. It felt goodbye.

+++

  

“It’s more like you meet someone, and you fall in love, and you hope that that person is the one—and then at some point, you have to put down your chips. You just have to make a commitment and hope that you’re right.”
― Rainbow Rowell, Landline

I don’t really believe in the concept of The One. I liked this quote because in every relationship you’ll have, you will hope that that person will be the last. That (s)he is the person you’ll spend the rest of your life with. But hoping is not enough, both of you have to make a commitment to make it work.

+++

 

“I think maybe everybody falls. I think maybe we all do. And I don’t think that’s the asking. I think the asking is whether we get back up again.”
― Patrick Ness, Knife of Never Letting Go

KoNLG is a gripping book to read and the honesty of Todd’s heart will get you. This is one of the reasons why I liked this quote. When life hits you hard, you don’t stay down. Get up. Fight back. Don’t just lay there. Stand up. Don’t give up.

+++

 

“Rise up while you can.”
― Mira Grant, Newsflesh Trilogy

Who would have thought that you’ll get something inspirational in a zombie apocalypse novel? I was reading this series (book three at that time) when I was facing something about my health. This quote helped me a lot. It made me think that there is still time to get up and fix what I have to fix.

Any inspirational quotes you want to share? Comment your link and I’ll visit your page.
+++

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Inspirational Quotes from Books

    • Alona says:

      Hi Snow!

      Thanks for visiting. These are some of my favorites from the books I read since—*thinks*—I can’t remember. I saw your Pinocchio review! I haven’t read it entirely though; I’m still thinking if I’m gonna ditch Reply 1994. I’m taking a little break from watching Asian shows. I’m more into American series lately. Hopefully, I can get back to dramaland soon.

      xoxo,
      Alona

      • snow says:

        It happens with me as well. There are times when I’m watching only one K-drama and the dedication has decreased with time. I also keep watching American series & movies in between. Plus, I really want some time for reading, which can happen only if I intake limited Kdramas 🙂

  1. SciFi and Scary says:

    Just finished The Knife of Never Letting Go. My favorite quote was near the end too. Where he asks her about finding hope,a nd she says “No, but I’m going anyways.”

Leave a Reply

