Angelfall

Can somebody tell me why have I only read this now? It’s been on my list for—I can’t remember, that’s how long it’s been there or it’s just another ulyanin [1] moment but forget about that—what the hell have I been reading when this freaking gem is right in my face?

Type HerAngelfall by Susan Ee

Paperback, Hodder and Stoughton, 326 pages
YA Dystopian, Paranormal

Read from February 01 to March 21, 2015

It’s been six weeks since the angels of the apocalypse destroyed the world as we know it. Only pockets of humanity remain.

Savage street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night.

When angels fly away with a helpless girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back…

 
Wow.

I can sum up my review with that one word. I hate reading angel themed YA books. Aside from Cynthia Hand’s Unearthly series, I haven’t touched any teen angel book for years. Let’s admit it, they all have the same sickening formula that most paranormal readers hate; if you’ve read that many books in the genre, you’ll get what I mean. I used to eat up all angel books but I grew tired of the formula authors don’t get tired of using. If you are new to this you’ll appreciate it, love it even, but I’m absolutely sure after reading the same thing over and over, you will get tired of it. Believe me. So what makes Angelfall different from the rest of them? A lot. Giving this a 5-Kiss Mark rating already tells you how good it is.

Brutal. That is all I can say with Ee’s idea of a post apocalyptic novel with lovely, charming and all beautiful angels that are not so nice. A no-nonsense- I-can-kick-your-ass-no-damsel heroine? Check. An unbelievable-handsome -jerk-face-angel hero? Check. A bloody-sometimes-gruesome-fight in all the fight scenes you’ll read? Big check. It took me awhile to finish the book because I am always busy these days but it doesn’t mean I like it less. Angelfall is not your usual angel book. Throw everything you know about them if you read this because Susan Ee will turn your angel world upside down. Literally.

The story is incredibly good. The pacing is right. The characters are unforgettable. The scenes that you wouldn’t imagine to read in an angel book are magnificently executed. Tired of reading a story less, action less, angel themed book? PICK. THIS. UP. READ. IT. NOW.

You won’t regret it. Cross my heart.

Fantabulous: I can’t stop talking about it!

Fantabulous: I can’t stop talking about it!

Sometimes, as we’re stumbling along in the dark, we hit something good.

Other Reviews:
The Pretty Books
Knite Writes
The Geek Girl Project

Challenge:

Book # 3 of 2015

*****
All time freaking favorite. Best read of 2015 (so far).
Book Copy: Borrowed from Maria

One thought on “Angelfall

Leave a Reply

