Seducing Mr. Perfect

I have a shameful confession to make. I thought Daniel Henney and Daniel Oh are one and the same. Pathetic, right? In my defense, there aren’t so many Korean-American actors in Korea and they resemble each other it didn’t cross my mind they’re different actors. It was only when I watched Seducing Mr. Perfect and searched details about the cast I realized my mistake. They’re both eye candies anyway so can you blame me if I see them as one person? Haha.

Type Her Mr. 로빈 꼬시기/Seducing Mr. Perfect

Lotte Entertainment, 107 Minutes
Released on December 7, 2006
Romantic Comedy

Watched in May, 2014

Min-joon, an absolute believer in true love, dedicates herself to the men she dates, but each time it results in a painful breakup.

Today, she’s going through the most disastrous heartbreak ever – being dumped on her birthday! The confident professional Min-joon can be so clueless when it comes to love. Distracted from this unpleasant surprise, she bumps into an exotic foreign car. A very handsome young man steps out of the car angrily.

To escape from the scene, Min-joon pretends not to understand English, but when Min-joon arrives at work, she finds out that the foreigner, Robin, is none other than her newly appointed boss.

Director & Writer: Kim Sang-woo

Cast: Uhm Jung-hwa, Daniel Henney

 

This has the feel of the local romance pocket books and Harlequin novellas I read. It’s a light romantic film about a CEO falling in love with his assistant. It’s a safe romcom you can watch if you are only looking for something to pass the time but if you want something that would give you a good laugh and a little dose of drama; you should probably skip this one. Seducing Mr. Perfect is your typical romantic comedy. It doesn’t have an edge over other films in the genre—oh well, aside from Daniel Henney who is so gwapo[1] you’ll drop your panties in an instant if you see him in your doorstep in nothing but a towel wrapped around his waist. The plot isn’t remarkable. The conflict is not strong. I don’t know if it was because I watched it this late or it’s just a stroke of bad mood but I didn’t find it super entertaining. It did keep me occupied for a while. However, it’s not a film that would give you the “feels” you might be looking for in a good romcom.

One of my issues with the film is that the leads don’t have the chemistry of a couple that would make you giddy merely by how they look at each other. Henney may look good in the film but he fell short in portraying an alpha male, playboy CEO. Yes, he passed all the physical attributes we look for an alpha hero but he didn’t exude the persona. Our heroine, Jung Hwa, did not fit her character. I was confused if she was trying to show a confident pretty, twenty-something woman or a bullied, mean, pretentious woman of the world or probably a mixed of both. She’s too mature for the role. They should have looked for an actress who would compliment Henney, someone who radiates innocence when needed and fierce if she has to. I was thinking of Jang Na Ra, although I’m not sure if she’s at the right age when this film was made.

Bad: Read or watched but I’m not impressed.

Bad: Read or watched but I’m not impressed.

Shallow.

Shallow.

P.S. I watched this because… I had a difficult time forcing myself to finish Starting over Again I ended up seeing this. It’s a good distraction, for a time, but not satisfying.

Other Reviews:
The Drama Corner
~Views and Reviews~
Kato’s Totally Biased Movie Reviews

[1] Handsome.

Leave a Reply

