Love Walked In

I was asked told by Ingrid that we are going to moderate the February 2015 book discussion of our book club sometime last year. I didn’t say yes because I don’t have a choice but to do it. I was part of this book club for almost 4 years and this is the first time Ingrid and I will be moderators. It really takes a lot of planning, money, time and effort (I salute those who have done this more than once) but I don’t regret it. It was fun though I’m not dreaming of doing it again, not anytime soon. After four years again, maybe?

Type HerLove Walked In by Marisa Delos Santos

Paperback, Plume, 307 pages
Adult, Romance, Chick Lit

When Martin Grace enters the hip Philadelphia coffee shop Cornelia Brown manages, her life changes forever. But little does she know that her newfound love is only the harbinger of greater changes to come. Meanwhile, across town, Clare Hobbs–eleven years old and abandoned by her erratic mother–goes looking for her lost father. She crosses paths with Cornelia while meeting with him at the café, and the two women form an improbable friendship that carries them through the unpredictable currents of love and life.

 

This isn’t the book I voted. I want us to discuss Eleanor & Park but I thank Ingrid for pushing this book to win. I wouldn’t have picked this up if it didn’t win all because I don’t want to read romance. Not at that point. But for the love of Ingrid and the book club, I forced myself to forget what I’m going through and breeze through it.

Love Walked In is not your typical chick lit/romance where the girl-meets-boy-they-fell-in-love-and-lived-happily-ever-after crap. It’s about love, yes. But it’s not just about a romantic love. I don’t know if I liked Cornelia, most likely I don’t. Her view of love is questionable; I won’t discredit her with her decisions when it comes to her love life though because it is her love life but I would have done some things differently if I was in her shoes. It doesn’t mean that I can’t relate to her at times. I do. One of the reasons, why I liked this book is because there are things that hit closed to home, especially at that point of my life when I was reading this. Claire, on the other hand is someone I will always admire. Despite being young, she displayed maturity beyond her age (sometimes more mature than Cornelia). Her idea of love is so fresh, so simple yet so powerful and so compelling. It’s the magic of innocence, I guess, and simplicity—when all you wanted is to love and be loved romantically or not without the complicated mess that is so present in adult love.

De Los Santos has a way with words that would make you feel love, question love, understand love. She writes beautifully. She weaves her stories in simple words that have a big impact to her readers. I never expected to like Love Walked In because I have this thinking that it’s a typical chick lit romance. I was wrong. It was more than just a love story.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

Amazing: I’m mesmerized.

Other Reviews:
marisareadsitandwritesit
Sophisticated Dorkiness
RHAPSODY IN BOOKS WEBLOG

*****
Love is always love.

One thought on “Love Walked In

  1. Lovely says:

    I’ll love to read this one if it is “not your typical chick lit/romance where the girl-meets-boy-they-fell-in-love-and-lived-happily-ever-after crap.” HAHA! ~ xD

    It seems interesting.. MyNihility told me that you’ve moderated a book discussion last February. So this is the book…I see.. 😀

Leave a Reply

